Similar Book Covers (Oh my!)

I’ve noticed something the past month that definitely bothers me. There was a book on my to-read list on Goodreads that I thought I’d found at the local library. I didn’t remember the name of the book, but I remembered the cover. I was shocked when I realized that it wasn’t the same book. It just had the same exact art.

I’ve discovered a list on Goodreads that lists many books that use the same stock art. Some don’t change anything except the title and author’s name (or flip the image) and others are only somewhat similar, but as a writer and an artist, this is just unfathomable to me. How can this happen so much? Shouldn’t there be a way to ensure that stock art isn’t used multiple times on covers? Each book is unique. Shouldn’t the same be true for their covers?

 

Here’s the book(s) that opened my eyes that this was indeed happening:

     

 

Here’s the link to the similar book covers list on Goodreads.

 

What are your thoughts? Does this trouble you or do you think it’s okay? I’d love to hear your opinion!

 

J.N. Cahill

Writer. Artist. Dreamer.

2 thoughts on “Similar Book Covers (Oh my!)

  1. True. It was very disappointing to see that cover at the library and think it was the one I wanted to read, though. I guess it distresses me as a designer, wanting everything to be unique. It is interesting to look at the list. Some do a great job at using the same image.

Leave a Comment

