To Spoil or Not to Spoil?

So let’s say there’s this book, movie, or TV show that you are really excited about. Well, imagine you log onto Facebook only to find one of your friends is talking about it only they just completely told their entire newsfeed what happened. How does that make you feel? Some people don’t care. But me, well. I kind of want to reach across the screen, slap them, and say “ARG WHY DIDN’T YOU AT LEAST SAY YOU WERE SPOILING IT?!” *rage*

So the question is–what should you do when it comes to spoiling? There are times where I have spoiled things for myself by going to Wikipedia or the internet without finishing said book, movie, TV show/etc. But that in itself is a different story. So are sites, reviews, and people who either hide the spoilers or at least

SPOILER BELOW

>
>
>

give you some warning.

I guess the thing I’m asking here is how do you feel about spoilers? And if you hate them as much as I do, what can we do about this? I’ve made a list of suggestions below.

Ways to Avoid/Prevent Spoilers

  • Unless you are careful, I’d advise against going to Wikipedia when you have started something you don’t want spoiled. Wikipedia generally tells all, and while this can be helpful (in remember what happened earlier on in books, movies, TV shows), there are no spoiler warnings. So if you go to it, take caution.
  • There also seem to be many websites and reviewers who spoil it for you without any warning. Beware of these sites and people. Perhaps spread the word that spoiler tags should probably be added to their posts. In the nicest way possible, of course.
  • If a friend on your social networking site is spoiling something you and others haven’t seen, kindly ask them to either not post the spoiler or to warn people beforehand. Again, ask as kindly as possible. Be aware that some people may still take offense.
  • If you ask a friend who’s read/seen the book/show/movie you want to see about it, ask them to not spoil anything. I know if I ask my sister about something, she will just go on and on about it until I know how it ends and everything in between.

If anyone has any other suggestions, I’m all ears. Er–eyes.

Spoilers: Please be respectful of others who want to enjoy their experience with a book, movie, or show.

J.N. Cahill

Writer. Artist. Dreamer.

5 thoughts on “To Spoil or Not to Spoil?

  1. I know how you feel. The Hunger Games were ruined for me before I got the chance to read them. I just told the person who spoiled it for me, “thanks a lot.” She just laughed. Apparently, spoilers don’t bother her.

  2. I literally DESPISE spoilers. You’re holding a book, a guy next to you sees it and goes on about the story with you. Then they’re apologizing and everything but the books definitely spoiled. ‘oh i thought you had already read it. I mean why would I be holding it if I had already read it. It’s rather strange that spoilers aren’t able to understand this. I feel your pain.

    1. Good point. I guess after you finish a book, you’re supposed to lug it around and wait for people to tell you about it? Haha. Very sorry that people have spoiled things for you. Sometimes I even wonder why I continue reading after someone’s spoiled it.

Leave a Comment

