John and Hank Green–You’re Doing it Right

So, about a month ago, I came across John and Hank Green’s video blog on YouTube. I discovered their “Brotherhood 2.0” video project where they were not allowed to communicate via text, only through the phone and a required video chat where every other day one of them would vlog. And be punished if either of them didn’t vlog on their assigned day.

Well, the project became so well-known that John and Green also started to include their fans when it came to making their videos. I can see why. My first reaction to the first month of their vlog was “Oh, that’s a cool idea.” Before his vlog channel, I didn’t love John Green. I’d read his book, Looking for Alaska, about a year ago and liked it, but I didn’t think John was awesome or anything. Same with his other book, The Fault in Our Stars. I enjoyed it, it was really good, but I didn’t understand the hype.

I kept watching and slowly, I fell in love with the videos. John and Hank Green are just full of awesome. They know how to build a fan base. It’s because of this vlog that I decided to read Paper Towns, which is probably one of my favorites. Then I decided to listen to the audiobook of The Fault in Our Stars. Guess what? I loved it this time around. This time, I cried. The characters somehow connected with me deeper this time around.

Anyway, I haven’t finished the Brotherhood 2.0 videos yet, but I’m working on them.  I love Hank’s songs and the punishments and hearing about John’s books and the Yeti (that reminds me of my relationship with my fiance’ because of the odd endearing terms we have for one another) and hearing about Hank’s wife, The Katherine. It’s just really fun, touching, and inspiring to watch. At least, it is in my opinion.

The vlog never fails to put me in a good mood no matter how I’m feeling before watching it. It’s a great cure for whenever I am angry or upset. Some people hate the vlog and think the brothers are full of themselves, but many of us disagree. Besides, I think we are all full of ourselves at one point in our lives.

One day, John discovered an arcade game called “Nerdfighters” at an airport and the idea grew that a “Nerdfighter” is someone who is made of awesome. A Nerdfighter is someone who fights world-suck and Decepticons. Basically Nerdfighters are people who are and stand up for nerds. So now most of John and Hank Green’s fans call themselves “Nerdfighters.” I am a Nerdfighter. I love the Nerdfighters and how John Green brought this group of people together.

John and Hank Green actually include things Nerdfighters sometimes send them in their videos. They’ve met Nerdfighters. Went to their weddings. There’s even a book cover that a Nerdfighter made that John Green posted on his Facebook page not too long ago.

As an aspiring author, I’m just astounded at how well John has built up this community of people. He’s the type of author I inspire to be like–interacting with your fans. As a shy person, I imagine this will be somewhat difficult, but I am also pretty bold online. It’s just me being shy in person that I have to worry about.

Anyway, this kind of ended up being a fangirling kind of post, but yeah, if you love YA and haven’t checked out John Green’s books or the video vlog, I recommend it. It may not be for you, but it may also be exactly for you. But in my opinion, John and Hank Green–you’re doing it right.

 

NERDFIGHTER.

Leave a Comment

