I’m So Excited for August NaNo

It’s almost August. Which means the second round of Camp NaNo. I’m very excited because I have been wanting to write my August NaNo for months now. However, I am still torn on how I want the book to go.

The book I am writing for August NaNo is called Our Reasons. It’s about a depressed, kind of outcast girl who decides to make a list of reasons to kill herself. She ends up leaving the list in a library book, where a guy at her school finds the list. When he discovers who wrote the list, he decides to get to know her. Then he starts making a list, too. A list of reasons for her to stay.

Our Reasons is a young-adult, romance with dark elements (suicide, bullying, depression, negative body image). I’m not happy with my current outline because it involves a love triangle and it just doesn’t feel right in the way it ends. I’m thinking I may keep elements of the love triangle yet not go through with the actual love triangle, if that makes any sense. I don’t want to give too much away in case the original plan doesn’t work out or if you want to read it. It will be available on Wattpad for a while.

 
I know I keep dragging my feet on agent/querying news, but I’ve gotten a bit distracted with it so I haven’t gotten much research done yet. Hopefully I’ll have some agent information to share soon. Apologies until then!

7 thoughts on “I’m So Excited for August NaNo

  1. Oh my gosh. You’re right. August NaNo is SO soon! I really want to do it, but I’m not sure if I should. I mean, I’ve got a job that I’m working 3-4 nights a week at, and school will also be starting near the end of the month. What do you think… should I go for it? I probably will.

    And by the way, that book sounds incredible. Dark, and a little depressing, but you’ve definitely got a solid and do-able idea that could potentially appeal to thousands of future readers. Good luck! Keep us updated.

    1. Why not? Even if you don’t finish, you’ll accomplish something. I’m not even sure I will be able to because there’s so much going on lately. I actually ended up switching my idea because I just wasn’t getting into it like I thought I would. Maybe it’s because I was excited about it for months and now it’s like “Meh, everything I write sucks.” So I switched to a different idea and am putting this one back until I am inspired to work on it again.

      1. You still have time to write as much as you can. That’s what I’m doing. I don’t think I’ll make the word limit. I changed my idea and now I have 2K because I’m too busy cleaning for a new roommate arrival and working…

      2. Oh dang. I’m considering it, but I don’t even have a clue what to write on. My mind is so crazy right now, trying to catch up on what’s going on in the world while simultaneously working and dreading school.

      3. Then perhaps November would be a better time. Or you could do your own NaNo during a month when you think you can do it. Shouldn’t be too hard to keep up with your stats or whatever. Because in the end, NaNo should be for YOUR benefit πŸ™‚

      4. November does sound like a good month.

        I think I do need to do it when others are, just because that means it’s competitive and I thrive in competition. πŸ™‚

Leave a Comment

