Goosebumps as a Movie?

First of all, I apologize for the lack of posts. Life continues to be hectic. Hopefully I will be able to get some regular posts going soon. Bear with me. Today is a random post that I just couldn’t not blog about. Why, you may ask? Well, it deals with the book series that really made me love reading and writing. Sure, I loved to do both before the series, but I feel this series has seriously made me into the avid reader and writer that I am today.

What series, you ask? Goosebumps! I first encountered Goosebumps when I was in fourth grade and at a book fair. I bought The Barking Ghost because of the cover (I know, I know, but this is what happens when you are an artist/writer) and loved it.

I was an odd kid, I’m not going to lie. My parents weren’t too concerned with what I watched and seemed to think it was okay for me to grow up with Michael Myers, Jason, Chucky, Pinhead, and other horror movies. I don’t think I turned out too badly. So I was naturally drawn to horror. The Goosebumps books never scared me, but I still loved them. I fell in love with not just them, but R.L. Stine’s books in general.

I also really enjoyed the TV series based off of the Goosebumps series. In fact, last year during October, I even started re-watching some of them and ended up still enjoying most episodes. I’ve just discovered that they are thinking of making a movie based off of the Goosebumps books. I am both excited and horrified. Excited because I love the series and the movie has potential. Horrified because sometimes Hollywood turns your favorite books or original movies/shows into something…well…horrifying.

But here’s the site where I made this discovery (I was ironically looking up the Goosebumps series, curious on whether or not they have started selling DVD seasons yet): http://screenrant.com/goosebumps-movie-writer-schrad-78722/

I’m hoping if this goes through, that they do a good job. At least they have someone experienced with horror working on it. I’m curious on what R.L. Stine thinks about this, though. What are your thoughts about this and did you love Goosebumps growing up?

I feel that no matter what age I get, I will still read my Goosebumps books (I read some last October). This is one book series that will remain on my shelf even when I’m old and gray!

 

 

Leave a Comment

