Writing Tip for the Week! (Give NaNoWriMo a chance)

Hey guys, it’s Day 2! Which means today’s topic is your writing tip for the week. This week’s tip is to give NaNoWriMo a chance if you’ve never tried it before.

NaNo is done once a year during November, but you can also participate in Camp NaNo, which has two months (June and August) for you to choose. Or, if you could always choose any month you like and do this on your own. However, it’s much more fun to participate in NaNo when there’s a whole community of writers involved.

Source: my.hsj.org

NaNoWriMo is an event where you attempt to write a 50K (50,000 words) novel in thirty days.  This will be my second year of participating in NaNo. I think it’s a great tool for writers who have trouble keeping focused or finding time to write. NaNo helps you to find time in your daily life to write, even if it’s just a few lines.

Last year, I wrote Shades of Genesis for NaNo and really enjoyed the experience. This summer, I attempted two sessions of Camp NaNo (a version of NaNo that is held in the summer), but was only successful at completing one (Faith, Love, & Peace) and I did not enjoy the experience as much. This year I am taking a book I’ve already written in the past, Strawberry Sunrises, and re-writing is as a young-adult novel. I’m really excited for it, even though it means I will have to put my current books I’m working on (Whispers of the Heart and Karen’s Not Home) off to the side for a month.

A lot of writers don’t care for NaNoWriMo, but a lot do. It depends on the writer and what works best for them. But my tip for you is that if you are a writer and have never participated, try it. Even if you’re afraid you won’t have time with all the things going on in your life. At first I thought the same, but was surprised to discover how much time I actually did have to write if I only took the effort to make time.

I believe NaNoWriMo is a great writing exercise. It helps us writers to strive toward a goal. It helps us to learn to make time to write daily (or at least strive to). It allows us to meet other writers and encourage others. I also think that NaNo would help greatly with writers who are having trouble writing, whether it be writer’s block or getting their idea onto paper.

Have you ever participated in NaNoWriMo? If so, did you find it helpful? Why or why not? And if you have never participated, are you going to in the future?

Also, if you haven’t done so yet, please do enter my book giveaway. It’s really easy to enter!

Leave a Comment

