Querying & Agent Tips of the Week (3 Tips on Queries)

Hey guys, it’s Day 4. That means today we’re covering querying and agent tips. I haven’t been doing as much research as I had planned on doing a month ago. Certain things have happened to delay me, but I’m slowly getting back to researching the topic. Here are a few snippets of things I have learned since my last querying/agent tip.

Picture Source: serc.carleton.edu

(All of the below are from the 2011 Guide to Literary Agents that I’ve been reading)

From “Agents Tell All–FAQ: On Queries and Pitches”

1. What are the most common problems you see in a query letter from an unknown author?

– Mistakes in grammar, spelling, word usage, or sentence structure.

– Not saying what the book is about right away.

– Being boring or unoriginal.

* The above tips are from Ellen Pepus, the co-founder of Signature Literary

___________________________________________________________

2. What are common elements that you see in query letters that don’t need to be there?

– Query letters shouldn’t be over a page long.

– A description of the writer’s family or personal life if the book isn’t a memoir.

– Listing work qualifications for writing a non-fiction book.

* The above tips are from Abigail Koons, literary agent at The Park Literary Group

___________________________________________________________

3. Do you see many query letters that come in too long?

– Yes. The query letter should be no longer than a page. Even if submitted online. Queries that are concise and compelling are the most intriguing.

* The above tip is from Regina Brooks, founder of Serendipity Literary Agency.

___________________________________________________________

That’s all for today. I hope you find it helpful!

DON’T FORGET:

* To enter my book giveaway (it’s so easy to at least enter once!)

* To check out (and maybe participate in) my Halloween-themed writing prompt

* To check out my writing tip of the week

* See what I’m currently working on

UPDATE: I found my notes for Whispers of the Heart in my querying notebook. I feel like an idiot.

Leave a Comment

