What I’m Working On–Ready For NaNo!

Hey guys, it’s Day 3, which means today I’m going to let you know what I’ve been working on story-wise. This week I begin NaNoWriMo for 2012. I just finished my outline for the YA version of Strawberry Sunrises. I’m very excited to re-write this. Hopefully it will be even better than before.

Picture Source: nanowrimo.org

A lot of people hate on NaNo because they believe it produces crappy writing. A lot of people love it because it inspires them to write, helps them meet new writers, and helps many complete a goal. While I do believe that forcing yourself to write can create “crappy writing”, there is a reason we have revisions and edits, right?

NaNoWriMo is just a fun writing event that pushes you to make time to write. Author Stephen King encourages daily writing, and I believe that writing on a regular basis is a good thing.

Two very popular young-adult authors, Marissa Meyer (author of Cinder, which she wrote within two weeks of NaNoWriMo), and Stephanie Perkins (author of Anna and the French Kiss), are also participating this year. Many other authors (such as Holly Black, Mercedes Lackey, and Lemony Snicket) have also participated in the event.

Anyway, I have written as much of Karen’s Not Home as I am able so I will have some chapters to post during next month as I work on my NaNo Project. I am so excited to start! 😀

In case you missed my NaNoWriMo project, here it is again.

Strawberry Sunrises Cover
Original picture source: weheartit.com

Strawberry Sunrises is about a young girl named Elena and the summer that her family travels to her parent’s hometown. Elena quickly makes new friends and later experiences a tragedy that will affect her for the rest of her life. A few years later, Elena returns to face her demons concerning the tragedy and learns to move on with her life.

Originally Elena was almost twelve for the first part of the book, and twenty-three or four for the second part. Though I like the book, I think it may work better as young-adult. So in this version, Elena will be thirteen/fourteen in the first part of the book, and around seventeen/eighteen in the second part. I’m looking forward to writing it and will be sharing my progress on the blog. I also plan to post the rough draft on Wattpad for a limited time.

So that’s what I’ve been up to writing-wise this week. If you’re a writer, what have you been up to? I’d love to hear about it! Who else is doing NaNo? I’m here on the NaNoWriMo site if you want to add me as a writing buddy!

Don’t Forget!

To check out what I wrote for my Halloween themed prompt.

To check out my writing tip for the week.

Leave a Comment

