Relax & Read: Dystopian Novels on Election Day

A thought-provoking blog entry on dystopian novels and our right as Americans to vote.

Shannon A Thompson

Happy Election Day !

I know you probably are getting enough election propaganda shoved down your throat, so I won’t dwell on the topic. However, I woke up this morning wondering what causes me to want to vote and what causes me to encourage others to vote (no matter which candidate they are voting for).

I realized it’s essentially because people die for the right to vote while others in the world are STILL dying for the right to vote. Sometimes, I truly think we forget how truly lucky we are, but, granted, I know voting is a RIGHT, which means you don’t HAVE to do it, so today, I racked my brain, trying to figure out how to link writing and reading to voting–and not just writing and reading, because we could pick up any newspaper today and read about the election–I wanted to  connect entertainment with the desire…

View original post 182 more words

One thought on “Relax & Read: Dystopian Novels on Election Day

Leave a Comment

