NaNoWriMo 2012–Win!

Hey guys! So Thursday was the last day of NaNoWriMo 2012. I’m happy to report that I was able to finish mine on time. Here’s my last stats:

Today’s Word Count: 1,788 words!
Total Word Count: 51,423 words!
Remaining Word Count: 0 words!
Days Left: 1

Current Feeling about my NaNo: I finished not only my NaNoWriMo goal, but also the book, which ended up being a little over 51K. I had a hard time writing the ending, because the old ending wasn’t going to work in the YA setting. I am happier with the new ending.

And even though this book doesn’t focus as much on the main character regaining her faith (we have Peace Represent for that theme, right?), I do feel that her feelings concerning it come off on a somewhat positive note and has a lot of soul-searching in it so it can still be classified as Young Adult/Spiritual.

Overall, I have enjoyed my second year of NaNo and am happy with my YA re-write. I can tell it needs some work, but compared to the old version, I am much happier with the result!

Winner-180x180

I also couldn’t help but order one of the T-shirts the NaNoWriMo website had for sale this year. I’m in love with the logo and the colors.

nano_12_shirt_main
Picture Source: http://www.nanowrimo.org
You may be wondering what my plans are now that NaNoWriMo 2012 is over.
1. Take a break!
2. Get back to my current works, Karen’s Not Home, and Whispers of the Heart.
3. Spend more time researching querying and agents.
4. Focus on posting more in the blog.

If you participated in NaNo, did you finish? Did you find a lot of difficulties with it? What would have helped you better accomplish your goal? And even if you didn’t finish, just remember this–at least you got something written. Something is better than nothing.

jncahill_name
3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2012–Win!

Leave a Comment

