What I’m Working On + Kindle Fire HD

Hey guys! Today’s post on this topic is going to be pretty short because I haven’t been doing too much in regards to writing. I was too busy and still taking a break after I accomplished my NaNo before Christmas, and now that Christmas is over, I’ve been pretty lazy. There’s a good reason for it, though. I got one of the most amazing gifts ever this Christmas, from my awesome future-parent-in-laws: A Kindle Fire HD!

Me and my new Kindle Fire HD. The kindle is in a pretty turquoise cover made by Belkin.

I’m not a huge fan of e-books. Before I got the Kindle Fire, I had to rely on the Kindle app on my phone or my computer and both ended up hurting my eyes or being unjoyable to read on for the most part. However, I think things are going to be different with the Kindle Fire. I haven’t read much on it, but it is so far the best electronic reader I’ve tried out. The case also makes it feel more like an actual book. I’ve got several e-books to try out so I will let you know what I think of e-books on the Kindle Fire later. I’m thinking that while physical books will always be my favorite, that the Kindle will make me like electronic books better.

The inside of the cover. There's the Kindle Fire HD!
The inside of the cover. There’s the Kindle Fire HD!
My Kindle Fire HD in its pretty case.
My Kindle Fire HD in its pretty case.

I’m hoping to get a wireless keyboard for the Kindle Fire soon because I dislike typing on touch screens. Since my MacBook, which I’ve had since 2006, is dying, I think it will be a good replacement until I can afford a new laptop. The Kindle Fire doesn’t do everything that my MacBook does–it doesn’t have my writing program, Scrivener, you can’t access certain sites (like watching new episodes from the CW website)–but it does most of what I need it to do. So I might use the Kindle Fire for internet-related activities and write on my MacBook until I get a newer laptop or it dies.

On Saturday, I will be out of town for a few days and no internet, so I plan to get some writing done. My next goal is to finish Whispers of the Heart and Karen’s Not Home. It’s going to be hard to get back into writing after this break, but I really needed it. It should be easier to get going in a place where I can’t get on the internet instead, though.

Did you get anything cool for Christmas? The Kindle Fire and I have been pretty inseparable, especially because it came with a free month of Amazon Prime (free TV shows, movies, and some books!).

jncahill_name

 

 

2 thoughts on “What I’m Working On + Kindle Fire HD

Leave a Comment

