Book Review—Forever (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #3) by Maggie Stiefvater

Today I have my first book review from my 200 Book Reading Challenge for you.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Forever (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #3) by Maggie Stiefvater

Published July 12, 2011 by Scholastic Press

then.

When Sam met Grace, he was a wolf and she was a girl. Eventually he found a way to become a boy, and their loved moved from curious distance to the intense closeness of shared lives.

now.

That should have been the end of their story. But Grace was not meant to stay human. Now she is the wolf. And the wolves of Mercy Falls are about to be kill in one final, spectacular hunt.

forever.

Sam would do anything for Grace. But can one boy and one love really change a hostile, predatory world? The past, the present, and the future are about to collide in one pure moment – a moment of death or life, farewell or forever.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

***WARNING: This Review May Contain Slight Spoilers. Read at Your Own Risk***

Last year, I read Shiver and Linger, the first two books of The Wolves of Mercy Falls series. I was so happy when my library finally had a copy of Forever available. It’s my first read of 2013. This review is going to contain slight spoilers since it will cover what happened in the two previous books. So if you haven’t read Shiver or Linger and you don’t want any spoilers, I advise skipping this review until you’ve read them.

Forever picks up a little bit after where Linger ended.

Sam no longer shifts. Grace has been shifting for the past few months. While Sam tries to figure out how to live without Grace in his life, Cole struggles to find a cure. When Isabel learns that her father is assembling a big hunt for the wolves, the three of them must figure out how to save the wolves of Mercy Falls.

In a way, I liked Forever more than Shiver. Maggie Stiefvater has beautiful writing and storytelling, but it’s really her characters that win me over every time. It seems that her characters have somehow became even better in this book. I felt that Sam and Grace’s relationship especially went to a new level. Sam and Grace have one of the best YA romances that I’ve seen. Their love feels genuine and it makes me happy every time that they have a cute scene.

I also liked the relationship between Isabel and Cole. I wasn’t so sure if I liked it in the last book, but I really like how it evolves in this one. I especially loved their scene in the lab.

Another thing that I found was really nice was how in Shiver, Grace’s parents pretty much ignored her. In Linger, they start paying more attention to her–too much. In this book, her parents seem to finally get it right. As mad as I was at them in the last book, I felt kind of bad for them in this one and like how things ended up.

This book got very exciting toward the end. I could actually hear dramatic music playing in my head as Cole, Sam, and Grace led the pack to their new location (and sad music playing after Beck died). I especially liked Isabel’s role in the end. It caught me off guard. I feel that Stiefvater did a great job wrapping up the series. And I hope that in the end, Sam and Grace will always be together. Forever.

The entire Wolves of Mercy Falls has gotten a 4.5 rating from me. While I really enjoy this series, I don’t quite love it enough to push it into the 5 star range. It’s pretty close, though. I’m happy that I started 2013 with Forever because it was a great read.

cursorpediacursorpediacursorpediacursorpedia   halfstar

4.5 Stars–I Really Liked It

**The blue star icons are from cursorpedia.com until I am able to design my own.

Disclaimer: These opinions are my own; I was not required to write a positive review, nor was I compensated for this review.

jncahill_name

Leave a Comment

