What I’m Working On (February’s Going to Be Busy!)

February has arrived, and with it, lots of stuff I’ve got to get done writing-wise.

Whispers of the Heart Cover

1. Finish Whispers of the Heart. With NaNoWriMo 2012 and some real-life stuff going on, this book got pushed back further than I thought it would. Thankfully I’m at least halfway through it, but I’ve still got a bit to go. It’s even harder because now I have inspiration to write something new, but I don’t want to disappoint my fans, and for the past few years, I’d been actually finishing my stories instead of ending up not completing them. I don’t want to go back to bad habits.

Karen's Not Home Cover

2. Karen’s Not Home has officially been put on hold. I should have never started another book when I already had one going on. What was I thinking? I feel bad for disappointing the fans on this one, but there’s many more waiting on WOTH, and KHH is newer, so it’s only fair that it be pushed back for now.

Picture Source: weheartit.com
Picture Source: weheartit.com

3. Write a short story called You Know You Love Me. This highly in-demand story features Riley Emerson, the stalker from my short story, Creeper. I’ve set the date for the story to be posted in February. Seems perfect for Valentine’s Day, doesn’t it? 🙂

unseen_cupid

4. Write a short story called UnSeen Cupid. This is more of a cliche idea, but basically a girl dies on Valentine’s Day while getting ready to go to the VD dance with her boyfriend, and comes back as a ghost. She cannot rest in peace until she ensures that he can move on without her (and without embracing his suicidal urges). I was going to do this as an actual book, but changed my mind. At least for now. I’ll write this if I finish You Know You Love Me. If not, I guess this one will just have to go on the back burner.

cluttered2

5. I’ve already started outlining and taking notes on my new story idea, Cluttered, which is a young-adult book that involves hoarding. Too many episodes of Hoarders and having actual hoarders in my life brought this idea along. I might also go ahead and write some of it, but only if I make sure WOTH doesn’t fall behind. Maybe I can use this new idea for good, instead of evil (not finishing WOTH would be evil!).

So definitely a busy, busy month! Good thing the writing prompt for this month is going to be–go on, guess!–Valentine’s Day themed! I plan to put this in effect for You Know You Love Me.

jncahill_name

Leave a Comment

