Book Review–Beauty Never Dies (Grimm Diaries Prequels #3) by Cameron Jace

brotw

This is the fourth book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Beauty Never Dies (The Grimm Diaries Prequels #3) by Cameron Jace

Published June 20th 2012

Peter Pan has a plan. Since it’s been hundred years since his friends were all cursed by the Brothers Grimm, he is about to wake up Sleeping Beauty, his eternal lover. Oops, you didn’t know that. Blame it on the Grimms.

But in the middle of the ceremony, he is visited by the Evil Queen who manipulates him into helping her with information about Snow White. This or she will expose him as he has been secretly kidnapping kids to help him rebuild Neverland in the Dreamworld.

After the deal is made, Peter continues with the ceremony, bringing Sleeping Beauty back into life. What Sleeping Beauty is capable of and who she really is are like nothing ever written in the books.

***This review contains spoilers. Read at YOUR own risk***

I bought the Grimm Diaries Prequels on Amazon because they sounded like they were going to be fun to read. I love fairy tales and their re-tellings. While I liked the first prequel well enough, I didn’t care for the second. I should have stopped there, but once I get into a series, I like to at least give it a fair chance. I will not be reading any more prequels, or even the actual Grimm Diaries, until several things get better. I believe this review will work better in list format.

1. The Writing.

I have never seen worse writing in a PUBLISHED book. Online, yes. Published, NO. The writing should not be this bad for something that is available in the Amazon store. The writing sounded immature, was full of errors, and wasn’t enjoyable for me as a reader at all. Please get an editor. Please!

2. Who Are These Characters?

I liked the idea of the author bringing different characters together. However, some of these character joinings didn’t even make sense. The Hunchback of Notre Dame? Dracula? Are you kidding me? I could have lived with that, though, if the characters even someone sounded like themselves. The characters lacked their former personality and instead all pretty much sound like the same character, who sounded immature the entire time while I was reading.

If you’re going to use characters from other series, at least try to make them seem like the characters we all know and love. If these characters hadn’t had their famous names, I wouldn’t have even been able to tell who was who. The relationships were also insane and unrealistic. Why would Peter Pan have the hunchback of Notre Dame as a sidekick? Why would Peter Pan and a bad Sleeping Beauty be together? Why would Peter be attracted so much to an evil older woman? Dracula playing a zombie game? Please just kill me now.

The only character that I didn’t want to kill was the evil queen.

3. The Plot

The plot really didn’t make all that much sense. Maybe this series should be named “The Grimm Diaries Parodys.”

If I could rate this lower than a one star, I would. I would give it a half star. It was that bad. I have never read a book that made me want to die while reading it. I only forced myself to finish it because I wanted to give it a proper review, and it wasn’t too long (though I would have preferred it to be much more shorter).

If you liked the prequel, that’s cool. But I certainly won’t be touching anymore, or the actual books, until they improve.

1star

Disclaimer: These opinions are my own; I was not required to write a positive review, nor was I compensated for this review.

jncahill_name

2 thoughts on “Book Review–Beauty Never Dies (Grimm Diaries Prequels #3) by Cameron Jace

Leave a Comment

