Book Review–-Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Hey guys, sorry for the lack of posts. Life has gotten hectic, but I hope to stay more on top of things in the future. Thanks for your patience!

brotw

This is the fifth book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge and also the first book in the Book Cross Over that me and Kaila (from the Much, much more… blog) are doing. Click here to read her review of the book.

stardust

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Published August 29th 2006

Hopelessly crossed in love, a boy of half-fairy parentage leaves his mundane Victorian-English village on a quest for a fallen star in the magical realm. The star proves to be an attractive woman with a hot temper, who plunges with our hero into adventures featuring witches, the lion and the unicorn, plotting elf-lords, ships that sail the sky, magical transformations, curses whose effects rebound, binding conditions with hidden loopholes and all the rest.

***Review May Contain Slight Spoilers. Read with Caution***

I saw the movie before I read the book. However, it had been so long since I’d seen the movie, that I didn’t remember too much about it so it was almost like I’d never seen the movie before. If that makes sense. I had a very hard time actually reviewing this book so I decided to go with a list format to express what I liked and what I didn’t.

What I Liked:

– The Plot.

It was imaginative, kept my attention, and wasn’t predictable.

-Relationships.

I loved how Tristan’s true mother tied into the story so well; the relationship between Tristan and his parents (and sister), between Tristan and Charmed, Tristan and the star/Yvaine, and the star/unicorn.

-Yvaine/The Star.

I feel that this is the character I felt was the best characterized and also the one I felt the most for. She’s also an interesting character. After all, who’s ever heard of a “star” as a character?

-The book spawned a very good movie.

In fact, I actually liked the movie better in this case.

-Some of Gaiman’s lines were just beautiful.

I could also tell that he was an English author. Some examples below:

“While clothes do not, as the saying would sometimes have it, make the man, and fine feathers do not make fine birds, sometimes they can add a certain spice to a recipe.”

And this line was just funny to me–“And there was a voice, a high clear, female voice, which said “Ow”, and then, very quietly, it said “Fuck”, and then it said “Ow”, once more.”

What I Didn’t Like:

-Most of the Characterization.

With the exception of Yvaine and Charmed (the little man) and sometimes the witch, I felt like the other cast of characters didn’t make much of an impression on me. In fact, I liked all these characters better in the movie. Personally, Tristan was hard for me to like or relate to in the book. If I find it difficult to connect to the characters, it’s hard for me to truly love a book.

-Gaiman’s writing style.

While I found many of his lines beautiful or witty, it was hard for me to get into the overall writing style. It’s hard to explain, exactly, but I felt as if he were keeping me at a distance as he told the story. This may also explain why I didn’t enjoy most of the characters. It may all just be in my head, but it’s how I truly felt while reading it.

Overall, I enjoyed this. I struggled a bit with the rating, but finally decided on 3 stars.

3stars Disclaimer: These opinions are my own; I was not required to write a positive review, nor was I compensated for this review.

 

jncahill_name

Leave a Comment

