Book Review–Summer Knight (Dresden Files #4) by Jim Butcher

 

Hey guys! Sorry again for the wait. Things have been crazy my way. However, I did get a surprise this week–a new laptop. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it, but my current MacBook (which I got in 2006) has slowly been dying on me for the past few years. I finally managed to scrape together enough money for a new computer. My Apple friends have been giving me hell, but I went with a Toshiba this time. Hopefully it will turn out to be a good little computer. So far I really like it. The only things I don’t like is the touchpad (though I am getting the hang of it) and I’m not sure if I like Windows 8 or not. We’ll see. I know that I’m supposed to do a “writing tip” post today, but I am lacking the motivation to settle on a topic. Please accept my offer of a past due book review instead? I’m still working on a new posting schedule, so be prepared for some changes.
brotwThis is the sixth book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Summer Knight (The Dresden Files #4) by Jim Butcher

Published September 3rd 2002

Private detective/wizard-for-hire Harry Dresden is suckered into tangling in the affairs of Faerie, where the fate of the entire world-and his soul-are at stake.

***This review may contain slight spoilers. Please read this review at your OWN risk***

Many thanks to Penguin USA for giving me the chance to read and review this book from the Goodreads First Reads program.

I’m already a fan of the Dresden Files, even though I’ve only read the first four books so far. To date, Grave Peril is my favorite of the series. Summer Knight is probably my second.

Harry Dresden is Chicago’s only practicing wizard and often helps the Chicago police when there are cases that deal with the supernatural. In Summer Knight, Harry is still dealing with the events that happened in the last book, Grave Peril, when he is summoned to the White Council due to an upcoming war that Harry may or may not be responsible for starting. Oops. Things are further complicated when Harry discovers that he has to somehow stop the war and that his beautiful faerie godmother has sold him to one of the opponents in the upcoming battle.

The plot in this book continued to keep me on my toes. There were times when I had to go back and re-read a bit because the plot seemed to move quickly. So much was happening that it was easy to become confused. There was never a dull moment in this book. It made me really feel for Harry and his predicament.

This book focuses more on faeries than any of the others did. While I’m not a huge faerie lover, I was intrigued about the faeries in Harry’s world. The true identity of the person responsible for starting the battle between the summer and winter faerie courts was also a nice twist that I’d considered, but hadn’t put much thought into actually happening.

As far as characters go, Harry is an easy protagonist to like. He’s brave and courageous as well as a comedian. I feel that the bit of comedy from Harry’s end helps to keep the books from being too dark. I didn’t think there was as many clever lines from Harry as in the previous book, but still enough to be funny and interesting. The events from the last book seem to have made Harry’s character a little more serious.

The book is also filled with great side characters, such as the werewolves, particularly Billy (from book 2), Toots, new faerie folk, and Murphy, the head of Chicago’s supernatural police department. I especially like how Murphy’s relationship with Harry continues to grow closer with the more supernatural forces that she experiences with him.

I missed Michael, who was in the last book, but I can understand why he was MIA during this book. I’m hoping he will make a reappearance when a certain item of his is brought back into his possession.

All in all, I enjoyed Harry’s adventures in Summer Knight. It’s definitely one of the more exciting of the first books. If you enjoy fantasy and/or the supernatural along with some humor, The Dresden Files and this book is probably for you.

4stars

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for this review. These opinions are my own; I was not required to write a positive review, nor was I compensated for this review.

jncahill_name

One thought on “Book Review–Summer Knight (Dresden Files #4) by Jim Butcher

Leave a Comment

