Book Recommendation of the Week: Flowers in the Attic

Book Recommendation of the Week

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

This week’s book recommendation is Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews. The books even have a new cover to attract a new generation.

Like I said in my book vs. movie post about this title, I saw the movie first. My mom introduced me to it and I fell in love with it. I suppose I was in middle school when I saw it. Toward the end of ninth grade, a friend had the book (I only noticed it because of the cover) and I got so excited over it that she let me borrow it. To my surprise, it was even better than the movie. My friend then loaned me the sequel, even with the last day of school approaching. I devoured it. Over the summer, she sent me the rest of the books in the series (there were five total) via mail and I sent them back when I was finished. And so began my love affair with V.C. Andrews’ books. The love affair has never ended.

I recommend Flowers in the Attic because it’s different. I believe that even though it is probably a bit outdated for teenagers now, that it is still a great story with realistic, easy-to-care-for characters, and a plot so twisted that you never see it coming. I consider this book a classic. Many teenage girls have read it and loved it. Many may have even been able to get something out of it. Flowers in the Attic is part coming-of-age, part mystery, part horror. I loved the book series because I felt I actually knew the characters. I also love the family saga aspect.

I read Flowers in the Attic in 2001, and it is 2013 and still on my favorites shelf. I’ve read it multiple times (and still want to read it again!), and while there is nothing like the first read, I am still in love with the book and the overall series. I highly recommend reading the series if you end up enjoying the first book. The V.C. Andrews books come in different series–one per family. Series typically consist of 3-5 books. You’ll find out about the main character, their next generation (or two), and also how it all began (with either their parents or grandparents). If you end up liking the Flowers in the Attic series, there are lots of other series by the same author to try, too.

Picture Source: tumblr.com
Picture Source: tumblr.com

Intrigued? Here’s the synopsis:

The four Dollanganger children had such perfect lives — a beautiful mother, a doting father, a lovely home. Then Daddy was killed in a car accident, and Momma could no longer support the family. So she began writing letters to her parents, her millionaire parents, whom the children had never heard of before.

Momma tells the children all about their rich grandparents, and how Chris and Cathy and the twins will live like princes and princesses in their grandparents’ fancy mansion. The children are only too delighted by the prospect. But there are a few things that Momma hasn’t told them.

She hasn’t told them that their grandmother considers them “devil’s spawn” who should never have been born. She hasn’t told them that she has to hide them from their grandfather if she wants to inherit his fortune. She hasn’t told them that they are to be locked away in an abandoned wing of the house with only the dark, airless attic to play in. But, Momma promises, it’s only for a few days….

Then the days stretch into months, and the months into years. Desperately isolated, terrified of their grandmother, and increasingly convinced that their mother no longer cares about them, Chris and Cathy become all things to the twins and to each other. They cling to their love as their only hope, their only strength — a love that is almost stronger than death.

jncahill_name

One thought on “Book Recommendation of the Week: Flowers in the Attic

Leave a Comment

