Writing Prompt for May–No Planning

wpotm

Hey guys, it’s May. That means it’s time for a new writing prompt. I will be posting the results of April’s shortly (I just want to do a quick edit first). I also have a special surprise on May 3rd, so stay tuned!

As for May’s prompt, I’ve started re-reading the Gone series and I recently discovered that Mr. Grant doesn’t really plan his books out. He just writes and when a character is no longer useful, he either gets rid of them or has something terrible happen to them. I tend to be the kind of writer who plans ahead. Outlines, character sketches, you name it. So I thought this would be a cool idea for a prompt.

RULES: Write a short story without any planning. Write everything as it comes along. It’s okay to have a general idea for a story, but you may not plan what happens once you start writing it.

Entries are due on May 31, 2013.

Have fun and happy writing!

jncahill_name

Leave a Comment

