Book Recommendation of the Week: The Mockingbirds

Book Recommendation of the Week

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

This week’s book recommendation is The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney.

I read The Mockingbirds last year. I admit that I picked it up at the library because of the cover (I know, I know, AHH the graphic designer in me!). The synopsis sounded interesting, but I never thought that it would be one of those books that is hard to put down. Because it totally was. I’m pretty sure I read it within a day. I’m pretty sure I bit all of my nails off in anticipation for the next chapter.

Is it perfect? Well, no. But it totally grabbed my attention and brings a serious issue–date rape and how sometimes schools won’t do anything about it–to light. I’ve heard people comment that it’s unrealistic for a big school to not handle something like rape, but if you do some research, stuff like this happens enough to be scary. I also loved the writing and most of the characters. There were a few characters who didn’t seem to serve a real purpose, but I loved the main character and Martin to death. Martin is also on my top ten male characters to swoon for. Also, the author is a real sweetheart. If you like her fan page on Facebook and interact with her, you’ll see what I mean.

Intrigued? Here’s the synopsis:

Some schools have honor codes.
Others have handbooks.
Themis Academy has the Mockingbirds.

Themis Academy is a quiet boarding school with an exceptional student body that the administration trusts to always behave the honorable way–the Themis Way. So when Alex is date raped during her junior year, she has two options: stay silent and hope someone helps her, or enlist the Mockingbirds–a secret society of students dedicated to righting the wrongs of their fellow peers.

In this honest, page-turning account of a teen girl’s struggle to stand up for herself, debut author Daisy Whitney reminds readers that if you love something or someone–especially yourself–you fight for it.

Read it!

jncahill_name

4 thoughts on “Book Recommendation of the Week: The Mockingbirds

  1. I read this when it came out, as I was still working for the library then. (Oh, I miss my new book access!) I was really impressed by it. As you said, it isn’t perfect, but it takes a tough situation and handles it fairly bluntly. The follow up is also good, but the first one is the best in my opinion.

Leave a Comment

