Result of April’s Writing Prompt

wpotm

Here’s my writing prompt for April. April’s prompt was to write a short story based off of a song. What song did I pick? Well, I’ve actually been wanting to write a story based off this song since I pretty much first heard it. The song I picked was Happy Birthday by The Birthday Massacre (in love with this band now).

It’s a pretty violent song so my story, of course, ended up being a bit…well, violent. So you’ve been warned. Don’t click on my story link if you are easily scared or oppose violent content. While writing this, I ended up being inspired by other songs as well–mostly by The Birthday Massacre.

bbash

The Birthday Bash by J.N. Cahill

If you decide to check out my story, please let me know what you think and if you believe I succeeded with the prompt. I’m thinking of maybe expanding this into a book one day.

Here’s the lyrics to Happy Birthday by The Birthday Massacre as well as a link to listen to their song:

I think my friend said, “I hear footsteps”
I wore my black and white dress to the birthday massacre
Birthday massacre, birthday
I wore my black and white dress
I think my friend said, “Stick it in the back of her head”
I think my friend said, “Two of them are sisters”
“I’m a murder tramp, birthday boy,” I think I said
“I’m gonna bash them in, bash them in,” I think he said
Then we wished them all a happy birthday
We kissed them all goodnight
Now he chases me to my room, chases me to my room, chases me
In my black and red dress
I think my friend said, “Don’t forget the video”
I think my friend said, “Don’t forget to smile”
“You’re a murder tramp, murder tramp,” I think he said
“You’re a murder boy, birthday boy,” I think I said
I think my friend said, “Stick it in the back of her head”
I think my friend said, “Two of them are sisters”
“I’m a murder tramp, birthday boy,” I think I said
“I’m gonna bash them in, bash them in,” I think he said
I think my friend said, “Don’t forget the video”
I think my friend said, “Don’t forget to smile”
“You’re a murder tramp, murder tramp,” I think he said
“You’re a murder boy, birthday boy,” I think I said

© The Birthday Massacre

YouTube link to listen to the song

Other Songs that Inspired this Story:

Just For by Nickelback, Bully by Shinedown, Thoughtless by Korn, I Get Wicked by Thousand Foot Krutch, It Ends Tonight by The All-American Rejects, Wrapped in Your Arms by Fireflight, Getting Away With Murder by Papa Roach, Play With Fire, Horror Show, Alibis, and Leaving Tonight by The Birthday Massacre.

jncahill_name

Leave a Comment

