Book Review–Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

brotw

This is the tenth book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles #1) by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Published December 1, 2009

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

—-

***The following review may contain slight spoilers. Read with caution***

Beautiful Creatures was an interesting reading experience for me. The trailer looked amazing and I had a few friends who really enjoyed this, so I decided to give it a go. I am still undecided if I want to read the rest of the series, though. Since getting my thoughts down on this one was so difficult, I decided to go for the list approach for this review:

What I Liked:

– It was an easy book to get swept up into. At least until the halfway mark. I’ll go into more detail on that later, though.

– Interesting characters.

– Ethan and Amma’s relationship.

– Ethan’s family history and relationships were intriguing and always interesting to read about.

– I really enjoyed Lena’s character, and her relationship with her uncle and cousin.

– I enjoyed Ethan’s POV.

– The plot kept my interest.

– The writing was good.

– I could relate to the Southern, small-town setting since my hometown is similar. I also thought the homes of the two main characters (Ethan and Lena) were neat, especially Lena’s.

– Marian, the librarian (and obviously the library itself). Need I say more?

– The last few chapters were exciting and made it very difficult to put the book down.

What Needed Improvement/What I Didn’t Like:

– Ethan’s character development.

I enjoyed reading from his POV, but he was kind of a boring character and didn’t seem to change too much. His reactions to certain things often puzzled me. Whoa, you can read a strange girl’s thoughts and not freak out over it? Hmm.

– The romance.

I’m sorry, but I just wasn’t feeling it. There were maybe one or two scenes that I thought were cute, but overall, I didn’t really feel the chemistry between them. That’s kind of a problem.

– The story dragged on and on and on for way too long.

The book was great until I got the middle point. Then it became excruciatingly slow and boring. I almost gave up reading the book, but I reluctantly trudged on. If not for the exciting last chapters, this book would be getting a 1.5 rating from me. The middle could have used some cutting, or at least more plot progression.

What kind of ending was that?

The ending reminded me a lot of Breaking Dawn–lots of build-up, then lots of disappointment because nothing really changes.

Overall, I enjoyed the story, but the middle part of the book was a huge problem. I gave it 3 stars on Goodreads since you can’t do half-stars, but my true rating would be 2.5.

Disclaimer:   These opinions are my own; I was not required to write a positive review, nor was I compensated for this review.

2halfstars

jncahill_name

Leave a Comment

