The Book vs the Movie: The Hunger Games

bvm

Picture Source: www.beyondhollywood.com
Picture Source: http://www.beyondhollywood.com

Book written by Suzanne Collins, 2008

Movie directed by Gary Ross, 2012

Synopsis from Goodreads.com:

Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don’t live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV.

Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister’s place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before—and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender.

If she is to win, she will have to start making choices that will weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

VS

Picture Source: www.sdwhaven.com
Picture Source: http://www.sdwhaven.com

Which I Viewed First: The book.

Which I Enjoyed Most: The book.

Out of 5 stars, the Book Gets: 5 stars.

Out of 5 stars, the Movie Gets: 4 stars.

Things the Book Did Better: Intriguing story, strong female MC, great side characters (Cinna, Peeta, Rue, etc), great action and tension. I also felt that the book impacted me more emotionally than the movie.

Things the Movie Did Better: I enjoyed seeing the world and characters on screen. Sometimes it felt hard to picture certain things while reading. I felt that for the most part, the cast was perfect. I especially love who was cast for Cinna, Haymitch, and Caesar Flickerman!

Verdict?: The book.

Why?: At first, I was uncertain about if I would like the book, but as I kept reading, I found myself being more and more drawn into the book’s world and characters. I read the last half within a day because I literally couldn’t put it down. I felt really bad for most of the characters, too. Especially Rue and Foxface. I think they did a great job with the movie, but sometimes you just can’t do better than the book.

Should the movie be re-made?: No.

What do you think? Agree, disagree? Would love to hear your thoughts!

jncahill_name

One thought on “The Book vs the Movie: The Hunger Games

  1. I liked the book better too, the book was riveting and it really drew you into the stroy. The movie was good, don’t get me wrong, it made me cry for sure.

    It was one of those books that you simutanelosly loved to hate, or that you hated to love.

    And I didn’t like the movie because of the ending, in the book, *SPOILERS* Peeta lost his leg, yet in the movie, he didn’t. That kinda bugs me. I mean I guess it is better for the character but that was just a major change that I think will affect the impact of the movie, as well the rest of the movies.

Leave a Comment

