Book Review– Dandelion Summer by Lisa Wingate

brotw

This is the fifteenth book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Dandelion Summer by Lisa Wingate

Published July 5th, 2011

All her life, Epiphany Salerno has been tossed like a dandelion seed on the wind. Now, at sixteen, she must move to the low-rent side of Blue Sky Hill and work where she’s not wanted: in an upscale home on The Hill.

J. Norman Alvord’s daughter has hired a teenager to stay with him in the afternoons. Widowed and suffering from heart trouble, Norman wants to be left alone. But in Epie’s presence, Norman discovers a mystery- memories of another life and a woman who saved him. As he and Epie take an unexpected road trip through sleepy Southern towns, they form a life-changing friendship-and uncover long-held family secrets.

—-

***The following review may contain slight spoilers. Read with caution***

Many thanks to Penguin Group for giving me the chance to read and review this from the Goodreads First Reads program.

Dandelion Summer is filled with beautiful writing, intriguing characters, and a neat story that made putting it down very difficult. This story is told from two very different points-of-view. One is an elderly man trying to solve a mystery that he believes only exists within his mind at first and the other is a struggling, mixed teenager. Two very unlikely characters make a surprisingly good team.

The author did a terrific job with the point-of-views. Half of the time I didn’t even glance to see whose POV I was on because I could tell just from reading it. Both J. Norman and Epiphany are endearing characters, but it’s even more so when they are together.

The other characters were also well portrayed, but I am still in awe of how powerful the two main characters and their relationship to one another was and how well developed they were. If either of the characters had been taken from me, I honestly would have probably put the book down. They felt like real people.

I could have loved this just for the characters, but the author has also crafted a very intriguing story that is part drama, part mystery. It also seemed fairly realistic. My only faults with the book is that I didn’t care too much for Epiphany’s name and sometimes I felt like the characters used one another’s names a lot more than people seem to do in real life. However, I adored how Epiphany called her elder “J. Norm” throughout the entire book instead of “Mr. Alvord”, like he originally wanted.

Reading Dandelion Summer was an beautiful adventure that I will never forget. I definitely recommend this book, especially if you enjoy books that fill you with hope and characters that you can’t help but root for.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher (Penguin Group) for this review. These opinions are my own; I was not required to write a positive review, nor was I compensated for this review.

5stars

jncahill_name

Leave a Comment

