The Book vs the Movie: The Princess Diaries

bvm

Picture Source: dvdizzy.com
Picture Source: dvdizzy.com

Book written by Meg Cabot, 2001

Movie directed by Garry Marshall, 2001

Synopsis from Goodreads.com:

She’s just a New York City girl living with her artist mom…

News Flash: Dad is prince of Genovia. (So that’s why a limo meets her at the airport!)

Downer: Dad can’t have any more kids. (So no heir to the throne.)

Shock of the Century: Like it or not, Mia Thermopolis is prime princess material.

Mia must take princess lessons from her dreaded grandmére, the dowager princess of Genovia, who thinks Mia has a thing or two to learn before she steps up to the throne.

Well, her father can lecture her until he’s royal-blue in the face about her princessly duty–no way is she moving to Genovia and leaving Manhattan behind. But what’s a girl to do when her name is Princess Amelia Mignonette Grimaldi Thermopolis Renaldo?

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

VS

Picture Source: imdb.com
Picture Source: imdb.com

 

 

Which I Viewed First: The book, I think?

Which I Enjoyed Most: The movie.

Out of 5 stars, the Book Gets: 2.5 stars

Out of 5 stars, the Movie Gets: 3.5 stars

Things the Book Did Better: Loved the writing style and liked the overall story better.

Things the Movie Did Better: Mia was less annoying in the movie. For some reason her character just really annoyed me in the book and at times she seemed too preachy about certain topics. I know young people can be very opinionated, but I felt like I was getting lectured for not believing the same thing.  Perhaps she becomes more mature in the rest of the series–it’s been so long since I read the rest (I didn’t read them all so I have no idea how it ends) that I don’t remember what happens next. I re-read this one last year. I enjoyed the movie better because of the cast. The only thing that I believe really didn’t sit well for me in the movie is the dad situation. I actually liked his character in the book.

Verdict?: The movie.

Why?: Enjoyed the movie cast better. See above. I especially love Anne Hathaway. She does the audiobooks, too!

Should the movie be re-made?: Nope.

What do you think? Agree, disagree? Would love to hear your thoughts!

jncahill_name

Leave a Comment

