The Book vs the Movie: The Host

bvm

Picture Source: coolzig.com
Picture Source: coolzig.com

Book written by Stephanie Meyer, 2008

Movie directed by Andrew Niccol, 2013

Synopsis from Goodreads.com:

Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. The earth has been invaded by a species that take over the minds of human hosts while leaving their bodies intact. Wanderer, the invading “soul” who has been given Melanie’s body, didn’t expect to find its former tenant refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.

As Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of Jared, a human who still lives in hiding, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she’s never met. Reluctant allies, Wanderer and Melanie set off to search for the man they both love.

Featuring one of the most unusual love triangles in literature, THE HOST is a riveting and unforgettable novel about the persistence of love and the essence of what it means to be human.

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

VS

Picture Source: imdb.com
Picture Source: imdb.com

 

 

Which I Viewed First: The book. I actually first listened to it as an audiobook.

Which I Enjoyed Most: Both.

Out of 5 stars, the Book Gets: 4.5 stars

Out of 5 stars, the Movie Gets: 4.5 stars

Things the Book Did Better: The writing style, more info on the characters.

Things the Movie Did Better: The cast was awesome, I enjoyed the Jared/Melanie love story more in the movie (for some reason I just didn’t care for it as much in the book), Wanda/Ian are somehow even more cute. I also believe that I liked the movie a bit better when it came to the overall storyline because there were times in the book when it seemed to drag a little. The soundtrack is also awesome.

Verdict?: Both.

Why?: I’ve tried to choose between the two, but I can’t. I found both enjoyable. I’ve already watched the movie twice and I want to re-read the book.

Should the movie be re-made?: Nope.

What do you think? Agree, disagree? Would love to hear your thoughts!

jncahill_name

2 thoughts on “The Book vs the Movie: The Host

  1. Love these! I was so enthralled by the book and was even relieved when the movie lived up to my expectations!

Leave a Comment

