Under the Dome Premiere!

I’ve been very excited for Stephen King and Steven Spielberg’s new show, Under the Dome, since I saw the ad for it during the Superbowl. I grew even more excited when I saw the preview. I was about to go crazy from waiting once I read the book, which was about a week and a half ago. The show premiered on CBS last night. I was a little nervous that I might not get to watch it because it was starting to storm and that was messing with the signal before the show started, but luckily it cleared up right before Under the Dome aired.

Picture Source: CBS.com
Picture Source: CBS.com

Now, it’s not going to be the same as the book. That has already been established and I am very curious to see where the TV show will go. I was disappointed in the ending of the book so I am hoping it will be better in the series. There’s many characters missing and while I understand why, I am a bit sad that they cut Brenda Perkins and Sammy Bushey. Those were my two favorite female characters. As far as characters go, I’m unsure how I feel about the cast so far minus the following:

I love that Britt Robertson is in this and that she is playing Angie in a much different way than she was portrayed in the book.

Picture Source: www.huffingtonpost.com Angie & Junior.
Picture Source: http://www.huffingtonpost.com
Angie & Junior.

Alexander Koch did a great job as Junior. Seems pretty crazy so far.

Picture Source: https://www.facebook.com/UnderTheDomeCBS
Picture Source: https://www.facebook.com/UnderTheDomeCBS

Colin Ford makes an adorable Joe.

Picture Source: https://www.facebook.com/UnderTheDomeCBS
Picture Source: https://www.facebook.com/UnderTheDomeCBS

Dean Norris looks promising as Big Jim.

Picture Source: www.blastr.com
Picture Source: http://www.blastr.com

As far as everyone else goes, the jury is still out in my mind. But since SK was involved in the casting process, I’ll trust his instincts.

Very much looking forward to the next episode. The show will air on CBS on Mondays. Maybe after the first season, I will do a book vs the movie post. Will you be watching Under the Dome? If you missed the pilot, it is available for free watching on the CBS website. I might go back and re-watch it again because there was so much going on that I don’t feel like I comprehended everything.

 

jncahill_name

2 thoughts on “Under the Dome Premiere!

  1. I am enjoying it so far, watching on on Netflix discs. I agree that they cut some of the most interesting and complex female characters. I think it’s pretty good except for things like, the characters keep mentioning towns that are in southern California like Westlake and Brentwood which is a pet peeve of mine. The story takes place in Massachusetts, right? Sometimes it seems like the self-centeredness of producers who make so many T.V. shows take place near L.A./Hollywood. It just puts me off. Still, it doesn’t bother me enough that I’m about to stop watching!

    1. It’s set in Maine, where most of his work is. Chester’s Mill, Maine. I thought it was pretty good as well. Different, but good. I still like the book best, but it’s an enjoyable mini-series. For the next season, Stephen King will be doing more of the writing so perhaps it will get even better! Happy watching 🙂

Leave a Comment

