Book Review–Gone by Michael Grant

brotw

This is the twenty-first book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Gone by Michael Grant

Published June 24th, 2008

In the blink of an eye. Everyone disappears. GONE.

Except for the young. Teens. Middle schoolers. Toddlers. But not one single adult. No teachers, no cops, no doctors, no parents. Just as suddenly, there are no phones, no internet, no television. No way to get help. And no way to figure out what’s happened.

Hunger threatens. Bullies rule. A sinister creature lurks. Animals are mutating. And the teens themselves are changing, developing new talents—unimaginable, dangerous, deadly powers—that grow stronger by the day.

It’s a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen, a fight is shaping up. Townies against rich kids. Bullies against the weak. Powerful against powerless. And time is running out: On your birthday, you disappear just like everyone else…

 

—-

With the release of Light, I decided to re-read the books.

I originally read Gone within a day. While it took me longer to read this time (mostly due to my schedule), I somehow feel like I love and appreciate this story even more than I did when I first read it. I feel like I absorbed details better this time, when before the action made me move through things quickly. The characters are strong, realistic, and have unique personalities.

My favorite characters are as follows: Sam, Astrid, Edilio, Mary, Lana, Brianna, and Jack.

There’s really no characters that I dislike, though Drake, Caine, and Diana are bad guy characters that you “love to hate.”

Michael Grant has a very powerful imagination, eye for description, and is a great storyteller. I’m not sure this book will ever get old, and I think it’s a great series for young adults. I suggest giving this book a try, especially if you like highly imaginative stories. And if you end up loving it like many of us Gone fans, welcome to the FAYZ.

It’s hard to think of anything I didn’t like about this book, which is often the case with my favorite reads.

5stars

 

jncahill_name

3 thoughts on “Book Review–Gone by Michael Grant

  1. I just did a book review on Gone as well!!! It is the series that i’m reading for my book club. I have to say I love Lana the fact that she can heal people, her humble nature, and her fearless attitude are by far the greatest. I think i found a lot of similarities and even references to harry potter hahaha, like Drake and Draco, the author even mentioned harry potter at some point. Great post look forward to reading more.
    http://thesisterhoodclub.wordpress.com

    1. Cool book club choice! I love Lana, too. I believe you are right, thought Drake is way more scarier than I think even Draco ever could be. If you haven’t read the rest of the series, I definitely recommend them. They only get better!

Leave a Comment

