Book Review–Light by Michael Grant

brotw

This is the twenty-sixth book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Light by Michael Grant

Published April 2nd, 2013

It’s been over a year since all the adults disappeared. Gone.

In the time since everyperson over the age of fourteen disappeared from the town of Perdido Beach, California, countless battles have been fought: battles against hunger and lies and plague, and epic battles of good against evil. And now, the gaiaphage has been reborn as Diana’s malicious mutant daughter, Gaia.

Gaia is endlessly hungry for destruction. She yearns to conquer her Nemesis, Little Pete, and then bend the entire world to her warped will. As long-standing enemies become allies, secrets are revealed and unexpected sacrifices are made. Will their attempts to save themselves and one another matter in the end, or will the kids of Perdido Beach perish in this final power struggle?

Light, the sixth and final book in the New York Times bestselling Gone series by Michael Grant, creates a masterful, arresting conclusion to life in the FAYZ.

—-

Wow. I’m not even sure what to say, really. All the build-up for the release of Light was definitely worth the wait. It’s a bittersweet moment for me as a reader. I wanted to know how things ended and also how the FAYZ had truly been created, but now I am sad that I have to leave this world.

The Gone series is probably my favorite young-adult series, hands down. Why? Because of the characters, mostly. I have never seen an author who can craft such well developed characters. The characters are so real and vivid that I often have strong feelings about them. Conflicted feelings, too. Somehow this author even made me start falling for characters who I had earlier disliked.

And then sometimes he kills characters in such ways that you kind of feel like you just lost a loved one. Tears may start spilling onto the pages. I know mine did for this book. You can’t even assume that the big player characters are safe. But somehow, even though I wish certain characters had lived, somehow their deaths still add to the story. Complicated, right? Well, that’s life.

Aside from the wonderful cast of characters, there’s also the story. It’s unique and highly imaginative, but also deals with themes that affect all of us–love, hate, fear, strength, weakness, redemption. And so much more. One thing I love most about the series, and this book in particular, is that you almost never know where Grant is about to take you or your most beloved characters.

His writing style is uncomplicated and very easy to get wrapped up into. His characters stand out on their own. There are also vivid scenes that I will probably never be able to get out of my head. They are written so well that sometimes I felt like the breath had been knocked out of me. Sometimes I had to re-read passages just to get over the shock of what I’d just read.

In Light, it’s the endgame for the citizens of the FAYZ. With the gaiaphage growing stronger, this isn’t a fight that is easily forgotten. Gaia is completely evil, yet somehow I still find her endearing. I hate her but I also like her. Michael Grant, what on earth have you done to me? Many characters will die. Some will live. And I’m willing to bet that most will end up surprising you.

If you loved the rest of the series, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. And if you are reading this review and have never read the series, I highly recommend them. Come over to the dark side. It might be lighter than you think.

Even though the end of the series manages to wrap up most of my questions well, I still have many. Sadly I know these will probably never be answered, unless Michael Grant does a video (hint hint).

Characters that I ended up loving because of this book: Caine, Gaia (love to hate kind of character), Dahra, Orc.

I could honestly just go on and on about this book, but I’ll stop here.

5stars

jncahill_name

Leave a Comment

