Book Review–Bossypants by Tina Fey

brotw

This is the fortieth book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com


Bossypants by Tina Fey

Published April 1st, 2011

Before Liz Lemon, before “Weekend Update,” before “Sarah Palin,” Tina Fey was just a young girl with a dream: a recurring stress dream that she was being chased through a local airport by her middle-school gym teacher. She also had a dream that one day she would be a comedian on TV.

She has seen both these dreams come true.

At last, Tina Fey’s story can be told. From her youthful days as a vicious nerd to her tour of duty on Saturday Night Live; from her passionately halfhearted pursuit of physical beauty to her life as a mother eating things off the floor; from her one-sided college romance to her nearly fatal honeymoon—from the beginning of this paragraph to this final sentence.

Tina Fey reveals all, and proves what we’ve all suspected: you’re no one until someone calls you bossy.

—-

I’ve been meaning to read this one for a while. Now I am wishing I’d read it sooner. I’ve always liked Tina Fey, but now I think I absolutely adore her. Since Tina Fey herself did the audiobook version, I decided that I would read it on Kindle and listen to it at work. Great decision. I loved hearing Tina tell the story. There are some changes between the audio version and the actual book, but nothing major.

I normally don’t find these type of autobiographical books interesting, but this one may have made me change my mind. The writing style and tone definitely sounded like Tina (when I wasn’t listening to the audio). There’s lots of funny moments and thoughtful ones. I liked some parts so much that I would quote them to my fiance’.

If Tina Fey writes anymore books, sign me up. This also inspired me to begin watching 30Rock (which has also been on my watchlist for quite a while) and so far I’m loving it as well. Fey is a very charismatic storyteller. I admit that I liked the beginning parts of the books best (especially involving her becoming a woman) but I enjoyed reading (and listening to) the entire thing. I’m definitely going to have to get a physical copy to put next to Stephen Colbert’s I AM AMERICA AND SO CAN YOU! on my shelf.

Highly recommended to fans of Tina Fey and fans of comedy. If you don’t have time to read it, rent the audiobook at your local library. It will fly by!

5stars

jncname

Leave a Comment

