Book Review–The Visitor (Animorphs #2) by K.A. Applegate

brotw

This is the forty-second book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com


The Visitor (Animorphs #2) by K.A. Applegate

Published 1996

Morphing is certainly more fun than Sega — you can soar as an eagle and walk as a cat. But being an ANIMORPH is by no means just fun and games. Rachel knew better than anyone. One of her best friends, Melissa, is acting very strange. And it looks like Melissa’s dad, who is also the school’s Assistant Principal, may be connected to evil aliens. Rachel can’t tell Melissa what the ANIMORPHS have learned, but Melissa doesn’t seem interested in talking to Rachel these days anyway. Could Melissa be one of “them?”

With the help of Jake, Cassie, Tobias and Marco, Rachel plans to enter her friend’s house as a cat, intent on unlocking the secrets from within. If only Rachel could keep her mind off mice…

—-

I’ve decided to re-read this series since I now have them all in one form or another. I remember this one being one of my favorites when I was a kid because it was A) The first one I read; and B) I have always adored cats.

The writing style was good for the grade level and even at my age, I still enjoyed it. The characters for the most part are unique and likable. I think Cassie is my favorite. Then Tobias. Jake is probably the character I like the least because he’s bland to me.

I liked Rachel’s POV because she’s a strong character and I think it’s important for young girls to have strong female characters to read about. The plot in this one was more interesting than the last as well. This book made me wish that I had the ability to morph into an animal. How cool would that be?

4stars

jncname

Leave a Comment

