Insomnia and Old Facebook Posts (Change)

Okay, this is going to be a random post, but I’m feeling the need to write and blog about something that happened tonight.

For some unknown reason, I’ve been plagued by Insomnia all weekend. I’m no stranger to insomnia or being a night owl, but I don’t usually have this much trouble sleeping. I was able to finally drift off Friday and Saturday night, but Sunday night (now Monday morning), I gave up after 2:30 a.m. rolled by.

See, in the past, anytime I stay up after 2 in the morning, I always seem to sleep right through my alarms. Since I have work tomorrow, I have to be up. So I decided to just pull an all-nighter. I can’t remember the last time I did one and hopefully I won’t crash too hard later, but I feel I don’t have much of an alternative.

I should have been productive with my time, but I really haven’t–I’ve been on Facebook ever since I realized that sleep just wasn’t happening. Since no one else was on, I was on my profile reading old posts. I started from the day I signed up (2007) and made it to 2010. The Timeline is actually a pretty neat feature, though I wish you could keep it hidden from your friends.

I’m not sure whether to be amused or saddened by the posts I saw from years ago. I’ve apparently changed quite a bit. Not 100% for the better, but overall, I think so. I’ve become more open-minded over the years and I don’t talk about myself in third person on Facebook statuses anymore. I’m still trying to figure out why I did that. After some thought, I’ve concluded the reason I posted in third person was because I seem to recall the old Facebook saying “Your Name is” and then you would post your status. Seems likely anyway.

Aside from becoming more open minded and writing posts from a better POV, I have also apparently changed a lot concerning my religious views, politics, social issues, and becoming more concerned with my grammar and spelling. While it was tempting to think about deleting these shameful posts, I believe I’ll leave them to remind me of how I used to be and how much I’ve changed. Sometimes change really is for the better.

Sometimes it’s amazing to look back and see how much has changed in your life. I definitely recommend going back in time to old social media posts, journal/diary entries, etc, and seeing how much you’ve changed.

jncname

Leave a Comment

