Week 2: 31 Nights of Horror

31noh

For the month of October, I’ve decided to express my thoughts on my yearly “31 Nights of Horror” in place of the “Book vs Movie” posts. Book vs Movie will return in December.

So far, I’ve watched twelve out of thirty-one movies. The first five were discussed in my previous post (you can find it easily if you click on the “31 Nights of Horror” tag at the bottom of this post. Below is what I watched and what I thought of the other seven. There may be slight spoilers, but I’ve tried to ensure that I kept things brief and major spoiler-free.

Picture Source: imdb.com
Picture Source: imdb.com

6. Rosemary’s Baby (1968)

Directed by: Roman Polanski
Screenplay by: Roman Polanski
Produced by: William Castle
Starring: Mia Farrow, John Cassavetes, Ruth Gordon, & Sidney Blackmer.

A young couple move into a new apartment, only to be surrounded by peculiar neighbors and occurrences. When the wife becomes mysteriously pregnant, paranoia over the safety of her unborn child begins controlling her life.

I’ve always wanted to watch this movie, especially after I read about the book in Stephen King’s Danse Macabre. Now I want to read the book for sure. It’s definitely a very dated movie, but it has a captivating story and interesting characters. Mia Farrow did a terrific job in this.

Picture Source: mygeekblasphemy.com
Picture Source: mygeekblasphemy.com

While this movie didn’t scare me, it was an enjoyable watch. There were some pretty weird parts, the atmosphere was unsettling, and it’s a creepy story. The cast did a terrific job. I probably wouldn’t re-watch this one for a while, but I recommend viewing at least once.

My Rating: 7 out of 10 stars

Picture Source: imdb.com
Picture Source: imdb.com

7. Paranormal Activity 4 (2012)

Directed by: Henry Joost & Ariel Schulman
Screenplay by: Christopher Landon
Produced by: Oren Peli, Jason Blum, & Steven Schneider
Starring: Kathryn Newton, Matt Shively, Aiden Lovekamp, & Katie Featherston

It has been five years since the disappearance of Katie and Hunter, and a suburban family witness strange events in their neighborhood when a woman and a mysterious child move in.

I watched the original movie a few years ago and watched 2 and 3 earlier this year. Overall I enjoy the series so I had to add the fourth movie to my watchlist.

Picture Source: www.beyondhollywood.com
Picture Source: http://www.beyondhollywood.com

This is far from my favorite in the series. It wasn’t as suspenseful as the previous movies. I liked the main characters, though. The ending confused me. I liked this better than the original (I think the original is boring until halfway though), but it probably ranks as #3 on my list. I believe I enjoyed the 3rd movie the best out of the series because of the storyline. Interested to see how many more movies this series will spawn. Not bad, but not great.

My Rating: 5 out of 10 stars

Picture Source: imdb.com
Picture Source: imdb.com

8. “An Unlocked Window” from The Alfred Hitchcock Hour (1965)

Directed by: Joseph Newman
Screenplay by: James Bridges
Starring: Dana Wynter, T.C. Jones, Louise Latham, & John Kerr.

A serial killer is in the area where some private nurses have locked themselves in a large house, except for one basement window.

This isn’t really a movie, but it is something I’ve been wanting to watch for a while. It was recommended to me a few years ago and I just never got to it. I really enjoyed Hitchcock’s Psycho and The Birds, so I was really looking forward to this one.

Picture Source: dkholm.typepad.com
Picture Source: dkholm.typepad.com

It wasn’t very long, but I enjoyed it. It’s not my favorite of his work, but it did have a nice twist at the end–even though I guessed the twist minutes before it happened. Still pretty creepy and fun to watch. I’ll have to check out more of these episodes sometime!

My Rating: 7.5 out of 10 stars

Picture Source: imdb.com
Picture Source: imdb.com

9. Silent Hill: Revelation 3D (2012)

Directed by: Michael J. Bassett
Screenplay by: Michael J. Bassett
Produced by: Samuel Hadida & Don Carmody
Starring: Adelaide Clemens, Kit Harington, &  Carrie-Ann Moss.

When her father disappears, Heather Mason is drawn into a strange and terrifying alternate reality that holds answers to the horrific nightmares that have plagued her since childhood.

I’ve seen the original Silent Hill and kind of wanted to see this one in theaters, but I never got the chance.

Picture Source: www.aceshowbiz.com
Picture Source: http://www.aceshowbiz.com

I wasn’t too impressed with this one. The creatures were pretty much as fantastic as in the original, but the story seemed to be lacking and the movie felt slow to me. I probably wouldn’t watch this again unless nothing else was on. Not the worst movie I’ve ever seen, but not really good. Now I’m glad that I didn’t see it in theaters.

My Rating: 4 out of 10 stars.

Picture Source: imdb.com
Picture Source: imdb.com

10. Dark Skies (2013)

Directed by: Scott Stewart
Screenplay by: Scott Stewart
Produced by: Jason Blum, Couper Samuelson, & Jeanette Brill.
Starring: Keri Russell, Josh Hamilton, & Dakota Goyo.

As the Barret family’s peaceful suburban life is rocked by an escalating series of disturbing events, they come to learn that a terrifying and deadly force is after them.

Alien movies are always fun. This one also reminded me somewhat of Poltergeist.

Picture Source: reelauthors.com
Picture Source: reelauthors.com

This movie was enjoyable to watch and I thought the cast did a great job. Also loved the ending. The only thing that I disliked about the movie was some of the music was so shrill it ended up making my head ache, but overall a pretty decent alien horror film. Probably wouldn’t re-watch it again anytime soon, but maybe later on down the road.

My Rating: 7 out of 10 stars.

Picture Source: imdb.com
Picture Source: imdb.com

11. Thirteen Ghosts (2001)

Directed by: Steve Beck
Screenplay by: Rob White & Neal Marshall Stevens
Produced by: Robert Zemeckis, Joel Silver, and Gilbert Adler.
Starring: Tony Shalhoub, Matthew Lillard, and Embeth Davidtz.

When Cyrus Kriticos, a very rich collector of unique things dies, he leaves it all to his nephew and his family. All including his house, his fortune, and his malicious collection of ghosts!

This one started off strange, but as it went on, I found myself enjoying it more. Couldn’t stop seeing the main character as Monk, however.

Picture Source: www.rottentomatoes.com
Picture Source: http://www.rottentomatoes.com

Overall, Thirteen Ghosts was pretty enjoyable and definitely a unique idea. The plot was a bit confusing. Really liked the ghosts, especially the angry princess.

My Rating: 7 out of 10 stars.

Picture Source: imdb.com
Picture Source: imdb.com

12. Freddy vs Jason (2003)

Directed by: Ronny Yu
Screenplay by: Damian Shannon & Mark Swift
Produced by: Sean S. Cunningham
Starring: Robert Englund, Ken Kirzinger, & Monica Keena.

Freddy Krueger and Jason Voorhees return to terrorize the teenage population. Except this time, they’re out to get each other, too.

I’ve seen this movie before, but it’s been a really long time so I thought it might be fun and a good way to see both Freddy and Jason this Halloween since none of their movies made my list this year.

Picture Source: www.strangekidsclub.com -
Picture Source: http://www.strangekidsclub.com

This is more of a comedy than a horror movie, although there are some pretty gory death scenes. The plot is simple, but works well. The idea of Freddy getting Jason to start trouble to make himself stronger actually fits in pretty well with his character. A nice comedy-horror that is just fun to watch. I especially love the scene where Jason finds himself in the past at Camp Crystal.

My Rating: 6 out of 10 stars.

19 movies to go! So far I’m really enjoying my 31 Nights of Horror. I can’t wait to see the rest of the movies on my list. What did you think of these movies? And if you’re watching scary/Halloween movies this month, what’s on your list?

jncname

Leave a Comment

