Book Review–Projection by Risa Green

brotw

This is the 53rd book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com


Projection by Risa Green
Published September 3rd, 2013

When 13-year-old Gretchen Harris’s mother is murdered at Gretchen’s 8th Grade graduation party, everyone in the town of Delphi, California, suspects a power struggle within the Oculus Society: Delphi’s version of the Junior League.  Gretchen’s best friend, Jessica Shaw, might even hold the key to finding the culprit withThe Plotinus Ability: the Oculus Society’s jealously guarded secret power to trade souls, which hinges on a kiss.

Gretchen’s hope at finding the murderer ends in tragedy when Ariel Miller—the class outcast—stalks Gretchen and Jessica and surreptitiously films them exchanging a kiss to test if the Plotinus Ability is real, not knowing their motives. The ensuing YouTube video (“Popular Girls = Secret Lovers”) goes viral, Gretchen’s and Jessica’s lives are further shattered, and they vanish from Delphi.

Flash forward two years later: Ariel is suddenly the most popular junior in town, but wracked with guilt over what she did to Gretchen and Jessica.  When both girls reappear after their mysterious absence, Ariel finds herself pawn, suspect, and key player in their scheme to bring the murderer to justice.

—-

Many thanks to SoHo Press for giving me the chance to read and review this book from the Goodreads First Reads program.

Projection was a refreshing young adult book to read. It explored a topic that I had never thought about before, and I liked all the historical references (though I have no idea if they are based on fact or not). It was an interesting concept–being able to “project” into another person’s body.

The book had a good start, but honestly I didn’t care for either of the main characters, Gretchen or Jessica, until later on in the book. The plot itself definitely kept my attention enough to excuse my lack of interest in the characters.

I liked Ariel the best out of the girls (once the storyline progressed to the current time) and found her the easiest to relate to. Actually, when the girls meet up with Ariel again, I believe that’s when I started to like them better. Rob is my favorite of the minor characters, though that ends up being a bit ironic once reaching the end.

The relationships in the book were pretty realistic and deep. I especially liked the relationship between Jessica and her aunt Michelle. The plot twist really didn’t surprise me–I started to suspect what was happening chapters before the big hints began to develop, but it was still a good twist. It kind of made me feel like I’d been fooled as well.

The book itself was well written and enjoyable to read. I’d definitely recommend it. I would give it 3.5 stars out of 5. It would have made 4 if I’d liked the main characters better earlier on, but I suppose in a way, they did grow in becoming better people. Still, 3.5 stars.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for this review. These opinions are my own; I was not required to write a positive review, nor was I compensated for this review.

3halfstars

jncname

Leave a Comment

