Book Review–Cut by Patricia McCormick

brotw

This is the 60th book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Cut by Patricia McCormick
Published November 1st, 2000

“A tingle arced across my scalp. The floor tipped up at me and my body spiraled away. Then I was on the ceiling looking down, waiting to see what would happen next.”

Callie cuts herself. Never too deep, never enough to die. But enough to feel the pain. Enough to feel the scream inside. Now she’s at Sea Pines, a “residential treatment facility” filled with girls struggling with problems of their own. Callie doesn’t want to have anything to do with them. She doesn’t want to have anything to do with anyone. She won’t even speak. But Callie can only stay silent for so long…

 

—-

Cut was a fast and enjoyable read. The main character, Callie, is staying at a mental institution because she not only cuts herself, but has also stopped speaking. I really liked the setting because for some reason the idea of it fascinates me.

I liked the writing style well enough, though I didn’t really enjoy the way the 2nd person perspective was done. It seemed to only be present at certain times and took me a while to figure out the story was being addressed to Callie’s therapist.

I liked the characters, especially Ruby. The relationships between the characters were strong and interesting, especially between the girls. I feel the book did a good job with the subject matter, though I have no experience with it. Seemed pretty legitimate, however.

A nice, short read that tackles real issues.

3halfstars

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

