Book Review–7 Clues to Winning You by Kristin Walker

brotw

This is the 61st book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

11797479

7 Clues to Winning You by Kristin Walker
Published April 26th, 2012

When a humiliating picture of Blythe goes viral, she’s instantly the target of ridicule at her new school. To salvage her reputation, Blythe teams up with Luke to win the Senior Scramble scavenger hunt. But Luke is an unlikely ally and potentially can’t be trusted.

Perhaps it’s his Shakespearean witticisms that reel Blythe in despite her better judgment . . . or maybe she just craves the thrill of the game. But as the hunt progresses, their relationship heats up. Soon their madcap mischief spirals out of control. Blythe is faced with arrest and expulsion, among other catastrophes – until Luke shows her what the Scramble (and love) is really about.

 

—-

***This review may contain slight spoilers. Read at your own risk***

At first, I didn’t like this one. The main character, Blythe, came across as spoiled and bratty. The plot seemed interesting, but I wasn’t all that into it to start with. The “booger” incident seemed a little dramatic. I think a more compromising picture would have made the story a little stronger, but I also know there’s plenty of immaturity in high school students.

Thankfully the character and the plot got better and I found myself liking Blythe. The character development in this book is pretty strong. By the middle of the book, I was completely rooting for her.

I also really enjoyed the love interest. His character went through some nice development as well. He and Blythe were simply adorable and made a good match. I also enjoyed Blythe’s friends, Cy and Jenna. The only thing that irked me about them was the constant making out, but I do recall knowing a few couples in high school who were like this so it’s not completely unbelievable.

Ms. Eulalie and Ms. Franny were the funniest characters in the book and I enjoyed every single one of their scenes. I really loved those crazy ladies! The only character I didn’t get was Luke’s ex. She seemed to be randomly thrown into the story just to add drama to one scene. I think the story would have been fine without her, but that’s just my two cents.

7 Clues isn’t a really deep story, but it was enjoyable and has some great themes in it, especially when it comes to being yourself and looking beyond first impressions/judgments.

The only things that I disliked about this book was the Cy/Jenna constant makeout sessions (seemed a LITTLE overdone), the slut-shaming (it wasn’t quite enough to annoy me, but enough to make me scowl), and some of the dialogue sounding a little too formal. Also, while I enjoyed the writing and Blythe’s POV, a lot of sentences tended to start with “I”. Just a nitpicky thing, but it made the writing sound a little repetitive at times.

Other than that, this was a great, kind of fluffy read. I’ll probably re-read this one again one day.

 

3halfstars

jncname

Leave a Comment

