Book Review–The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

brotw

This is the 62nd book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

7963255

The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson
Published March 1st, 2010

Lennie plays second clarinet in the school orchestra and has always happily been second fiddle to her charismatic older sister, Bailey. Then Bailey dies suddenly, and Lennie is left at sea without her anchor. Overcome by emotion, Lennie soon finds herself torn between two boys: Bailey’s boyfriend, Toby, and Joe, the charming and musically gifted new boy in town.

While Toby can’t see her without seeing Bailey and Joe sees her only for herself, each offers Lennie something she desperately needs. But ultimately, it’s up to Lennie to find her own way toward what she really needs-without Bailey. A remarkable debut novel perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block.

 

—-

The Sky is Everywhere is a nice debut from author and literary agent, Jandy Nelson. The book was a little slow getting into, but once I was in about five chapters, it was harder to put down. It was a really neat idea with a great cast of characters. Death and grieving over a loved one is nothing new, but the approach the author took in this YA book was more original than most.

The characters obviously made the story work. Lennon (named after John Lennon), the main character, was pretty likable, easy to relate to, and three-dimensional. I liked hearing the story through her point-of-view. I also enjoyed Lennon’s family, particularly her grandmother, who is a wild spirit kind of person.

Love triangles are a hit and a miss with me, but this book did a pretty good one. I liked Joe and Lennon a whole lot better than Toby and Lennon, but the author made me understand why Toby and Lennon had such a complicated relationship. Joe and Lennon were pretty freaking adorable. I could read about them and their blossoming love all day.

I liked how this book wasn’t only about boys, but also about Lennon’s inner feelings and conflicts. Her back story is fascinating and another thing I could have read about all day, particularly when it comes to Lennon and Bailey’s mom.

Definitely an amazing read. It’s not perfect, but it has a great story, intriguing, likable characters, good setting, and I really like the scattered notes (and how they are printed on various items). Not your typical YA book on death, grieving, or love triangles.

 

4stars

 

jncname

Advertisements

One thought on “Book Review–The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s