Book Review–This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen

brotw

This is the 65th book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen
Published March 8th, 2004

When it comes to relationships, Remy doesn’t mess around. After all, she’s learned all there is to know from her mother, who’s currently working on husband number five. But there’s something about Dexter that seems to defy all of Remy’s rules. He certainly doesn’t seem like Mr. Right. For some reason, however, Remy just can’t seem to shake him. Could it be that Remy’s starting to understand what those love songs are all about?

 

—-

This is probably my favorite Sarah Dessen read for the year.

There are four reasons to which My Lullaby was enjoyable:

1. Remy.

Remy was a really easy character to like and relate to. Even though I found her approach toward guys to be sad, I could understand it. Coming from a broken home myself, it was easy to put myself in her shoes. Being afraid that a loved one will end up leaving you, or that it won’t work out, is a common fear among many people. Sarah Dessen did a great job at showing us why Remy is the way she is.

I also enjoyed reading the story through her POV. She has a strong and caring personality that is easy to admire. I especially enjoyed her relationships with her family.

2. The Romance.

The romance in this book is probably one of the most realistic ones that I’ve read in a while. While Remy and Dexter made a cute couple, it wasn’t a perfect relationship and I loved that because relationships aren’t perfect in real life. I wasn’t so sure about Dexter at first, but he grew to be an endearing character.

3. The Other Characters.

While Remy and Dexter are the ones most visible in the spotlight, they aren’t the only good characters. I felt that all of the characters were fleshed out pretty well. A lot of times I find that non-main characters come across as dull, unrealistic, or barely there. This is not the case here. These characters definitely felt real.

4. The Story Itself.

The story itself is interesting, and I’m always a sucker for stories that involve character growth and an emotional journey of some kind.

Final Verdict: I really liked this. It’s not my most favorite Sarah Dessen read, but it was pretty awesome.

 

4halfstars

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

