Book Review–Still More Tales to Give You Goosebumps: Ten Spooky Stories by R.L. Stine

brotw

This is the 67th book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Still More Tales to Give You Goosebumps: Ten Spooky Stories by R.L. Stine
Published January 1st, 1996

Ten spine-tingling Halloween stories come packaged with special Goosebumps Halloween accessories, including vampire fangs, fake vampire blood, fake skin, and makeup.

—-

***This review contains SPOILERS. Read at your OWN risk!***

I happened to come across this one at the thrift store and since I’ve never read any of R.L. Stine’s short stories, I decided to give it a try. Thought it would make a nice read for Halloween as well. This book had ten short stories. Overall I enjoyed this, but here’s my thoughts on the individual stories:

1. Pumpkin Juice–Typical R.L Stine Goosebumps-esqe story. I found it to be entertaining, though I’m honestly a little stumped about the recipe and the after-effects, but this is a Goosebumps story so I went with it. The twist at the end was nice, though.

2. Attack of the Tattoo–Original. Had nice imagery, but I couldn’t help but chuckle at how the tattoos were put on and removed.

3. The Wish–This one had a nice twist. Was really short so I didn’t like it as much as the previous two.

4. An Old Story–This one was really interesting. It’s probably my favorite out of all of these. An old aunt feeds her nephews things made with special prunes in order for them to become older so she can set them up with her friends. Bahahaha!

5. The Scarecrow–I really liked the irony in this one. Didn’t care a lot for the twist. Could have been a great moral story.

6. Awesome Ants–Meh. My least liked out of these.

7. Please Don’t Feed the Bears–This one ended up being pretty good, though I was doubtful at first.

8. The Goblin’s Glare–Another that I didn’t really care for.

9. Bats About Bats–This one was a bit weird, but I liked the twist, as corny as it was.

10.The Space Suit Snatcher–This was a good one. I guessed part of the twist, but the final one was funny.

Overall, a nice collection of short stories. They’re kind of corny, but they are geared to a way younger audience. I still enjoyed most of these, though.

3stars

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

