Book Review–Nightlight: A Parody by The Harvard Lampoon

brotw

This is the 69th book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Nightlight: A Parody by The Harvard Lampoon
Published November 3rd, 2009

About three things I was absolutely certain.
First, Edwart was most likely my soul mate, maybe.
Second, there was a vampire part of him–which I assumed was wildly out of his control–that wanted me dead.
And third, I unconditionally, irrevocably, impenetrably, heterogeneously, gynecologically, and disreputably wished he had kissed me.

And thus Belle Goose falls in love with the mysterious and sparkly Edwart Mullen in the Harvard Lampoon’s hilarious send-up of Twilight.

Pale and klutzy, Belle arrives in Switchblade, Oregon looking for adventure, or at least an undead classmate. She soon discovers Edwart, a super-hot computer nerd with zero interest in girls. After witnessing a number of strange events–Edwart leaves his tater tots untouched at lunch! Edwart saves her from a flying snowball!–Belle has a dramatic revelation: Edwart is a vampire. But how can she convince Edwart to bite her and transform her into his eternal bride, especially when he seems to find girls so repulsive?

Complete with romance, danger, insufficient parental guardianship, creepy stalker-like behavior, and a vampire prom, Nightlight is the uproarious tale of a vampire-obsessed girl, looking for love in all the wrong places.

—-

I really liked the Twilight books when they first came out. Not an obsessive fan, but genuinely liked them. At least until I re-read them last year. While I still liked parts of them (as well as Meyer’s captivating writing style), I discovered that they really weren’t as great as I’d once thought. There have always been things about the books that bugged me, even when I was a fan.

I’ve wanted to read this parody for a while, so when I happened to see it at my local thrift store, I grabbed it. When the cashier rang it up, she couldn’t stop reading the back and looking at the cover.

This book was hilarious. I made the mistake of starting it when I was out in public eating lunch and kept laughing so hard at parts that one of the waitstaff came over to ask if I was okay. One of the saddest things about Nightlight is that Belle came off as much more interesting character than Bella.

While the book got less funny toward the end, I still enjoyed this overall. It’s probably not something I would re-read any time soon, but I definitely recommend it to people who like the Twilight series but can take jokes aimed at the series, non-fans, those who hate all things Twilight, and people who enjoy parodies. I do NOT recommend this for die-hard fans who cannot take even a speck of criticism when it comes to the books.

 

3halfstars

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

