Book Review–Rage by Stephen King

brotw

This is the 70th book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Rage by Stephen King
Published September 6th, 1977

 

A disturbed high-school student with authority problems kills one of his teachers and takes the rest of his class hostage. Over the course of one long, tense and unbearable hot afternoon, Charlie Decker explains what led him to this drastic sequence of events, while at the same time deconstructing the personalities of his classmates, forcing each one to justify his or her existence.

—-

I’ve been wanting to read this one for years, but just never got to it. I got the kindle version recently and decided to read it when another book became too boring for me while I was on a long trip. I’ve been a big fan of Stephen King for years, since I was in high school. I tend to like most of his work, but there are a few books and stories that I don’t care for. Rage ended up being a really good one.

I read most of this during my trip. The story itself is pretty captivating and I found it hard to dislike Charlie, the main character, even though he kills innocent people. I think we can all identify with the feeling of being so full of rage that we feel we are at the breaking point. At least I know I do, though I would hope I would never harm anyone.

I really liked getting into Charlie’s head and learning about his back story. His dad was a real jerk, which is probably a huge reason that Charlie snapped in the first place. I also found Charlie’s interactions with his classmates and their responses back to him interesting.

I’m not sure how I feel about the ending, but it was entertaining for sure. This would make a pretty awesome SK movie, too.

4stars

jncname

Leave a Comment

