Book Review–A Shade of Vampire by Bella Forrest

brotw

This is the 72nd book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

17255435

A Shade of Vampire by Bella Forrest
Published December 14th, 2012

 

On the evening of Sofia Claremont’s seventeenth birthday, she is sucked into a nightmare from which she cannot wake.

A quiet evening walk along a beach brings her face to face with a dangerous pale creature that craves much more than her blood.

She is kidnapped to an island where the sun is eternally forbidden to shine.
An island uncharted by any map and ruled by the most powerful vampire coven on the planet. She wakes here as a slave, a captive in chains.

Sofia’s life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn when she is the one selected out of hundreds of girls to join the harem of Derek Novak, the dark royal Prince.

Despite his addiction to power and obsessive thirst for her blood, Sofia soon realizes that the safest place on the island is within his quarters, and she must do all within her power to win him over if she is to survive even one more night.

Will she succeed? …or is she destined to the same fate that all other girls have met at the hands of the Novaks?

 

—-

I was approached by the author, Bella Forrest, and asked to read and review this book. I’d been eying it before then because the cover looked intriguing. I’m still feeling a bit mixed on this one, so I believe a “list” review will best describe my feelings about this book.

***The following contains mild spoilers. Read at your OWN risk!***

What I Liked:

1. The story moved along well (not too fast or slow).

2. The story was interesting.

3. I liked that the main character, Sofia, showed concern toward others.

4. The writing was fairly good.

What I Didn’t Like:

1. While I liked the writing style, there were a lot of instances where I would stumble across repetitive sentences and awkward/formal dialogue.

2. I found the characters to be a bit bland, particularly the main players. Would have liked to see more character development and unique traits.

3. The idea of Sofia falling in love with her kidnapper honestly disturbs me.

4. The romance itself (all kidnapping aside) seemed a bit forced. I like little things about the relationship (particularly the Sun Room), but it still felt too much like insta-love, which I’m not a huge fan of.

Overall, it’s a decent read and I’m sure fans of books like Twilight and The Vampire Diaries will lap this up, but it just really didn’t do anything for me. It left me feeling more conflicted than anything. Maybe I would have felt better about this book if not for the entire kidnapping scenario.

I did like that it was a fast and entertaining read, so I’m going with 2.5 stars (2 for Goodreads).

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the author for this review. These opinions are my own; I was not required to write a positive review, nor was I compensated for this review.

2halfstars

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

