Book Review–The Selection by Kiera Cass

brotw

This is the 79th book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

The Selection by Kiera Cass
Published April 24th, 2012

 

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

—-

***The following review MAY contain slight spoilers***

I was really hesitant to read this not only because of all the drama surrounding it, but also because of the negative reviews. But it sounded interesting and yes, I do judge books by covers (hard not to when you are an artist and this one is absolutely gorgeous) so I decided to give it a shot.

I ended up really liking this one. The writing isn’t spectacular, but it was easy to read and had nice descriptions and dialogue. The characters were mostly well developed, especially the main character, America. However, I really dislike her name. I know her name is supposed to have all this great meaning behind it, but I still don’t care for it. I can live with it, though.

The plot itself is good. Cliche, but good. I’m always a sucker for stories in which someone poor finds themselves in a rich setting, with a chance to become wealthy. Cass did an okay job with the world building, it also left me with a lot of questions. I’m hoping that all of my questions will be answered within the next books. I especially want to know what happened to Halloween.

I liked the relationships between America and her family, Marlee, and her maids. They felt genuine. I also hope that Marlee sticks around for a while because I liked her and want to know more about what she’s hiding.

The love triangle in this wasn’t bad, but honestly felt a bit weak. Maybe it’s because I didn’t warm up to Aspen. He kind of came off as jerk to me throughout most of the book. I loved Prince Maxxon, though. He was sweet and thoughtful but also wasn’t perfect. The slow chemistry between him and America is much more enjoyable than between her and Aspen.

The synopsis compares this book to The Hunger Games and The Bachelor. I have never seen The Bachelor, but the book did have a Hunger Games feel to it that I enjoyed. I’m looking forward to reading the next two books, plus the novellas. If you like stories about royalty, princesses and princes, romance, rich surroundings, poor characters who have a chance to become rich, and fairytales, you’ll probably like this.

 

5stars

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

