Book Review–School Days: Tales of Teens at Weeping Willow High by Carlos Perez

brotw

This is the 85th book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

School Days: Tales of Teens at Weeping Willow High by Carlos Perez
Published May 12th, 2013

 

School Days is a collection of short stories of young people as they make their way through the toughest mine field of all, high school. This is especially significant at Weeping Willow High School; a school that seems to be trapped in the past, with little desire to move forward.

 

—-

I won a copy of this book from the Goodreads First Reads Giveaway program. Many thanks to the publisher/author for giving me the chance to read and review this book from the Goodreads First Reads program.

School Days: Tales of Teens at Weeping Willow High had a lot of potential, but the book overall fell short for me. The writing style wasn’t bad, but definitely had a lot more “telling” than showing, which made it hard to connect with any of the characters. It was also hard to connect with the characters (and keep track of them) because there were so many and their stories seemed to fly by.

I believe the book would have been better if some of the characters had been cut. There were also a few times in which a character’s story would go into different past moments that sometimes made me confused about the timeline and what was going on at the moment.

I did like how this book had a Degrassi kind of feel and tackled real issues. The dialogue and situations were realistic for the most part, though the stories concerning the kittens and the girl with the baby were slightly disturbing. Still not sure how I feel about those, but they had great emotion from the characters. The ending had a nice little twist that I enjoyed.

Overall, I would give this 2.5 stars. Probably not something I would read again but also not bad. More focus on the characters would have made this pretty good.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for this review. These opinions are my own; I was not required to write a positive review, nor was I compensated for this review.

2halfstars

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

