Book Review–Slimed!: An Oral History of Nickelodeon’s Golden Age by Mathew Klickstein

brotw

This is the 84th book from my 200 Book Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Slimed!: An Oral History of Nickelodeon’s Golden Age by Mathew Klickstein
Published September 24th, 2013

 

SLIMED! An Oral History of Nickelodeon’s Golden Age tells the surprisingly complex, wonderfully nostalgic, and impressively compelling story of how Nickelodeon — the First Kids’ Network — began as a DIY startup in the late 70s, and forged ahead through the early eighties with a tiny band of young artists and filmmakers who would go on to change everything about cable television, television in general, animation, and children’s entertainment, proving just what can be done if the indie spirit is kept alive in the corporate world.

Get the real back story about all of your favorite Golden Age Nick shows: Everything from such classics as You Can’t Do That On Television, Out of Control and Double Dare to early 90s faves like The Adventures of Pete & Pete, the original three Nicktoons, Clarissa Explains It All and more …  All from those who made it happen!

 

—-

I won a copy of this book from the Goodreads First Reads Giveaway program. Many thanks to the publisher/author for giving me the chance to read and review this book from the Goodreads First Reads program.

I haven’t read a book like Slimed! for a while. The writing style is done like an interview. I was a bit confused when I started reading because there were lots of people being interviewed, and a lot of the names weren’t familiar. I later discovered the index to the people in the back of the book, but I think it would have been better to be placed in the front of the book.

Anyway, this was a very interesting read. I didn’t have cable at home growing up, but I watched Nickelodeon every chance that I got when I visited my dad and other relatives as a kid. Nickelodeon made some of my favorite cartoons and shows growing up in the 80s and 90s.

This book discusses a lot of neat subjects, such as what the slime was made of and the whole story behind it. Got to learn a lot about Double Dare, which I really wanted to go on as a kid. There’s also some cool stories and facts about the cast, crew, and the shows themselves. I found myself reading certain parts aloud to my fiance’ because I either found them fascinating or funny.

One part that really touched me concerned Clarissa’s dad on Clarissa Explains It All and his reaction to her coming to work when she was feeling sick.

Overall, this was an interesting book on the golden age of Nickelodeon. I recommend this for all fans of Nickelodeon.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for this review. These opinions are my own; I was not required to write a positive review, nor was I compensated for this review.

3halfstars

 

jncname

One thought on “Book Review–Slimed!: An Oral History of Nickelodeon’s Golden Age by Mathew Klickstein

Leave a Comment

