Book Review–Sleeper by S.M. Johnston

brotw

This is the 1st book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

17837453

Sleeper by S.M. Johnston
Published December 2013 by Entranced Publishing

 

A new heart should mean new life, not a living nightmare.

Mishca Richardson’s life is at an all-time high after her heart transplant. With new boyfriend, Ryder, the two of them have the perfect summer romance. Even the nightmares that have been plaguing her sleep since her operation can’t dull the high she’s on.

Things start to unravel as Mishca develops superhuman abilities. She does her best to hide them so as not to end up a science experiment in a lab. But she can’t ignore the instant attraction she experiences when she meets her university professor, Colin Reed.

Torn between the blossoming love and the obsession, Mishca must decide if she wants Ryder or Colin. But the organization responsible for her changes and her connection to Colin, is moving to secure Mishca so that she can be the weapon she was always intended to be. If Mishca can’t resist her programming she’ll have a lot more to worry about than romance.

 

—-

I’ve been really excited for this book all year. I’m not typically a Science Fiction fan, but this is probably one of my new favorites. It’s really part Sci-Fi, part romance.

The main character, Mischa, was easily likable. It was easy to feel for her from the beginning, especially when it came to her heart. The book is set in Australia, which I loved reading about since I live in the US and have never ventured out there. I liked the entire set-up of Mischa’s family–she’s adopted and from a different race other than her adopted parents.

Usually in most YA books, the MC’s parents are non-existant. That definitely isn’t the case with Sleeper. Mischa’s parents were there for her, but also not afraid to punish her when needed. And of course there’s the lovable feline family member, Smelly Belly, who kind of provided me with a bit of mini-amusement whenever he entered the scene.

I also like several of the side characters. Ryder is a great love interest and I loved Mischa’s relationship with him. Mischa’s later friend, Nerissa, proves to be more than what she seems in the beginning. Ryder’s friends were pretty interesting as well, especially Sophitia. I wasn’t really a huge fan of Colin, but he did add something to the overall story.

The plot was mostly smooth, though there were a few parts that seemed to drag a bit. There were some parts I really liked, too–The Drive-In, the Mascarade party, and the church scene. I never knew exactly what would happen next, which was nice. I never saw the twist coming.

I’m glad this looks like it will be a series because I have tons of questions after finishing the first book. I’ll eagerly be awaiting the next one.

4stars

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

