Book Review–Living Violet by Jaime Reed

brotw

I’m skipping Book vs Movie until I figure out what to read/watch next. If you have any suggestions, let me have them!

This is the 6th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Living Violet (The Cambion Chronicles) by Jaime Reed
Published 2011 by Dafina

 

He’s persuasive, charming, and way too mysterious. And for Samara Marshall, her co-worker is everything she wants most–and everything she most fears. . .

Samara Marshall is determined to make the summer before her senior year the best ever. Her plan: enjoy downtime with friends and work to save up cash for her dream car. Summer romance is not on her to-do list, but uncovering the truth about her flirtatious co-worker, Caleb Baker, is. From the peculiar glow to his eyes to the unfortunate events that befall the girls who pine after him, Samara is the only one to sense danger behind his smile.

But Caleb’s secrets are drawing Samara into a world where the laws of attraction are a means of survival. And as a sinister power closes in on those she loves, Samara must take a risk that will change her life forever. . .or consume it.

 

——

I won a copy of this book from the Goodreads First Reads Giveaway program. Many thanks to the publisher/author for giving me the chance to read and review this book from the Goodreads First Reads program.

This book intrigued me from the start because of the main character–a bi-racial girl named Samara. “Sam” was a very easy character to like. She’s snarky, strong, yet also has her weaknesses and a vulnerability of her own. I enjoyed seeing the story unfold from her POV.

I wasn’t so sure about Caleb, the love interest with purple–yes, PURPLE–eyes at first. Even though the reason he has the eyes is interesting, I was a little worried that the book would end up being corny. The book actually seemed to get better the longer I got into it. And so did he.

Although the story is interesting enough, it’s really the characters that made this book come alive–at least for me. Samara is an awesome main character, Caleb is an interesting love interest, and I just loved Nadine. I liked the romance aspect–I was a little afraid it would be insta-love, but was pleasantly surprised. Although the climax was a bit predictable, I didn’t anticipate the twist.

Fans of romance and the supernatural will probably enjoy this one. I won’t give away the supernatural aspect, but I’d be very surprised if someone was able to guess it right away.

Needless to say I will be checking out the next book.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for this review. These opinions are my own; I was not required to write a positive review, nor was I compensated for this review.

4stars

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

