Writing Tip: Writing Exercise #4: Writing in Verse

wtotw

Hey guys. I’ve decided that for a while, I’m going to continue with just writing exercises. I find them more fun than the tips. However, if you have any ideas for tips that you’d like to see, please DO leave me a comment!

Writing Exercise #4: Write a short prompt in verse form (like Ellen Hopkins, author of CRANK, uses).

>

>

>

>

>

I decided to take my first few paragraphs from Peace Represent and re-write them in verse.

 

I’m laying on my bed

Reading

When I hear the gunshots outside.

I shoot up

Press the book to my chest

The sound seems to echo

In my ears.

My heart is pounding

Hard.

Several

Minutes

Pass.

I sit there

Too frozen to do anything

But listen

No other sounds come.

My muscles begin to relax.

I lay back down

Turning onto my side.

My heart still pounding

So hard that

It is the only sound

Filling my head.

Thump

Thump

Thump

 

How did you do? Feel free to share!

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

