Book Review–The Capture (Animorphs #6) by Katherine Applegate

brotw

I’m skipping Book vs Movie until I figure out what to read/watch next. If you have any suggestions, let me have them!

This is the 7th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

The Capture (Animorphs #6) by Katherine Applegate
Published 1997 by Scholastic Paperbacks

 

It was really bad when Jake found out his older brother was one of them. It was even worse when Tobias stayed in his morph too long. But nothing compares to the horror the Animorphs are about to face. Nothing.
Jake and the other Animorphs have a feeling they know where the Yeerks’ new base is located. And they’ve found out how to get in – how many people will really notice a few flies on the wall? But they never figured that they might get caught. Or that Jake could fall into the Yeerk pool. That Jake could become a human-Controller. A Yeerk. The enemy.

 

——

***The following may contain spoilers from previous books as well as the current book***

This was one of my favorites of the series when I was a kid. Re-reading it, I found it to be pretty good and liked it better than some of the others. In this one, the Animorphs are trying to find a way to sneak into a meeting at “The Sharing” to figure out what is going on with a local hospital. Once they learn that the hospital has been compromised by Controllers, the gang has to figure out a way to stop them before they manage to gain even more control.

What I liked about this one was that one of the Animorphs ends up with a Yeerk in his brain, giving you a better picture of what it’s liked to be controlled by these parasites. This is the book that made me start to like Jake better when before he didn’t seem to have much personality for me to like or dislike him.

 

4stars

jncname

4 thoughts on “Book Review–The Capture (Animorphs #6) by Katherine Applegate

    1. I never finished the series. I could only find certain ones as a kid so now that I’m grown, I’ve been buying the ones I don’t have and re-reading them. Now I’m worried! :-O

      1. 56 books, plus the assorted mega morphs and 2 stand alones. I could have read them for 100’s of books. I wish they were on Kindle too.

      2. Looks like I have a long way to go (and many more to find)! Maybe they will be on Kindle one day. I believe I heard they were thinking of a reprint with new covers. If so, that may be a good time to move them to Kindle format, too.

Leave a Comment

