Book Review–Audition by Stasia Ward Kehoe

brotw

This is the 11th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Audition by Stasia Ward Kehoe
Published October 13th 2011 by Viking Juvenile

 

When high school junior Sara wins a coveted scholarship to study ballet, she must sacrifice everything for her new life as a professional dancer-in-training. Living in a strange city with a host family, she’s deeply lonely-until she falls into the arms of Remington, a choreographer in his early twenties. At first, she loves being Rem’s muse, but as she discovers a surprising passion for writing, she begins to question whether she’s chosen the right path. Is Rem using her, or is it the other way around? And is dancing still her dream, or does she need something more? This debut novel in verse is as intense and romantic as it is eloquent.

 

——

I love reading about dancing, particularly ballet. It has always fascinated me. So when I saw Audition on the shelf, there was no hesitating in grabbing it. I haven’t read many verse novels, but this one is absolutely beautiful.

Examples of author’s beautiful verse:

But with Rem, I want to be sixteen
Or, like Alice in Wonderland,
Sometimes smaller
Sometimes bigger still.

In bed at night
When I can’t sleep,
I think of Rodya dreaming of horses,
Sonya’s pale face,
The misdirected loves of the Bennet sisters.
Wish my life were inside a book
So I could turn to the ending,
See if it is a love story
Or a gothic disaster.

Besides the beautiful, wonderfully flowing writing, I also really enjoyed the story. Sara was also a character that I could relate to. While she is a quiet sort of character, she still has a personality and conflicts concerning every aspect of her life. I wasn’t really fond of the love interest, but the romance was still intriguing and certain parts made me smile. The side characters were also pretty good. I liked Sara’s professor and the family she goes to live with a lot.

I got a little lost with all of the ballet moves since I don’t know very many, but the author did a great job capturing the subject of dance. This book made me once again regret that I dropped out of ballet classes as a child. It made me want to learn ballet. The world of ballet is beautiful, mysterious, yet obviously has its flaws, which are outlined pretty well in this book. The non-ballet parts were also portrayed pretty realistically.

I’m not sure I could pick out any flaws in this book. It was a very enjoyable read that further fueled the love of dance inside of me. If you love books about dancing, this is definitely right up your alley.

 

5stars

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

