Book Review–So Much Closer by Susane Colasanti

brotw

First off–apologies for the lack of posts lately. It has been a very hectic week. Also, I met R.L. Stine this weekend. Which I will go into further detail about later. Minus participating in #NestPitch, I really don’t have any new updates so I will start tomorrow with my Meeting R.L. Stine post, then move onto Book Recommendation of the week and so forth for the remainder of the week.

 

This is the 12th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

So Much Closer by Susane Colasanti
Published May 3rd, 2011 by Viking Juvenile

 

When Brooke’s crush, Scott, moves from their suburban town to New York City, she decides to follow him there. Living with her formerly estranged dad and adapting to a new school are challenging, and things go from bad to worse when Brooke learns that Scott already has a girlfriend. But as she builds her new life, Brooke begins to discover a side of herself she never knew existed. And as she finds out, in the city that never sleeps, love can appear around any corner…

 

——

At first, I wasn’t so sure if I was going to like this one or not. The main character, Brooke, basically moves to another city to be closer to her crush once she discovers he’s moving. That itself seemed like a stretch because while I remember how deep-rooted my high school crushes were, I would have never moved for one.

The plot and character development got much better once she moved. I loved the scenery of New York–it made me experience it in a new way. Usually fiction tends to paint New York negatively, but this book focused on the beautiful aspects of it. I also loved the Out of the Box class Brooke gets to attend and wish I’d had such a cool class back in my school.

Brooke was a somewhat difficult character to like, but once she began to settle into her new life, I found myself liking her more and more. I wasn’t so crazy about her love interest, though her relationship with him later on reminds me of a relationship I once had and helped me to really be able to sympathize with her.

I loved Brooke’s friends, Sadie and John. Especially John, and I knew his “secret” about Brooke the entire time. It was pretty obvious. I also like how things went between the two of them toward the end. Made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

Starts off as a lighthearted, fluffy read about love but ends up being more complicated than that. Really good read. And if you’re a fan of The Office or Office Space, you’ll love the references. Great read about following your heart.

 

4stars

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

